Godspeed You! Black Emperor stream Luciferian Towers track

Godspeed You! Black Emperor

Godspeed You! Black Emperor have streamed the first track from seventh album Luciferian Towers – listen to Undoing A Luciferian Towers below.

The four-track record is released on September 22 via Constellation and comes after the band spend time focusing on commemorations of the Battle of Messines during World War I.

They describe the work as “a thing we made in the midst of communal mess, raising dogs and children, eyes up and filled with dreadful joy.

“We aimed for wrong notes that explode, a quiet muttering amplified heavenward. We recorded it all in a burning motor boat.”

They say the album represents a set of “grand demands” that include: “An end to foreign invasions, an end to borders, the total dismantling ot the prison-industrial complex; healthcare, housing, food and water acknowledged as an inalienable human right; the expert fuckers who broke his world never get to speak again.”

They add of Undoing A Luciferian Towers: “Look at that fucking skyline! Big lazy money writ in dull marble obelisks! Imagine all those buildings much later on, hollowed out and stripped bare of wires and glass. Listen – the wind is whistling through all 3000 of its burning window-holes!”

The band commence a tour next week, including shows in Canada, South America and Europe, with six UK appearances during October – full dates below.

Godspeed You! Black Emperor: Luciferian Towers tracklist

  1. Undoing A Luciferian Towers
  2. Bosses Hang
  3. Fam / Famine
  4. Anthem For No State

Godspeed You! Black Emperor 2017 tour dates

03 Sep: Montreal, QC, Mile Ex End Musique Montréal Festival
22 Sep: Guadalajara, MX, C3 Stage
23 Sep: Mexico, MX, Sala Corona, Festival Aural
13 Oct: Rome, IT, Romaeuropa Festival
14 Oct: Rome, IT, Romaeuropa Festival
15 Oct: Fribourg, CH, Frison
16 Oct: Toulouse, FR, Le Bikini
17 Oct: Bordeaux, FR, Krakatoa
18 Oct: Rennes, FR, Théâtre National de Bretagne
19 Oct: Rouen, FR, Le 106
20 Oct: Lyon, FR, Le Tobogan
21 Oct: Strassbourg, FR, La Laiterie
22 Oct: Lille, FR, La Condition publique
23 Oct: Brighton, UK, Brighton Dome
25 Oct: Newcastle, UK, Boiler Shop
27 Oct: Glasgow, UK, O2 ABC
28 Oct: Manchester, UK, Victoria Warehouse
30 Oct: Bristol, UK, Motion
31 Oct: London, UK, Troxy
01 Nov: Brussels, BE, Vorst Nationaal
02 Nov: Amsterdam, NL, Paradiso
03 Nov: Berlin, DE, Festsaal Kreuzberg
05 Nov: Hanover, DE, Indiego
07 Nov: Paris, FR, Elysée Montmartre

Godspeed You! Black Emperor

Freelance Online News Contributor

Not only is one-time online news editor Martin an established rock journalist and drummer, but he’s also penned several books on music history, including SAHB Story: The Tale of the Sensational Alex Harvey Band, a band he once managed, and the best-selling Apollo Memories about the history of the legendary and infamous Glasgow Apollo. Martin has written for Classic Rock and Prog and at one time had written more articles for Louder than anyone else (we think he's second now). He’s appeared on TV and when not delving intro all things music, can be found travelling along the UK’s vast canal network.