Go behind the scenes with The Sea Within in new video

(Image credit: Will Ireland)
The Sea Within

The Sea Within

Disc 1

1. Ashes Of Dawn
2. They Know My Name
3. The Void
4. An Eye For An Eye For An Eye
5. Goodbye
6. Sea Without
7. Broken Cord
8. The Hiding Of The Truth

Disc 2

1. The Roaring Silence
2. Where Are You Going?
3. Time
4. Denise

The Sea Within have shared a second studio video showing them working on material for their upcoming self-titled debut album.

The project is comprised of Roine Stolt, Daniel Gildenlöw, Jonas Reingold, Tom Brislin and Marco Minnemann, with the new footage featuring a taste of some of the tracks from the record which will arrive on June 22 via InsideOut Music.

Guests on the album include Jon Anderson, Dream Theater’s Jordan Rudess, Casey McPherson and Rob Townsend.

Watch the full video below.

Stolt says: “People have asked me how I would describe what we have done, and it is almost impossible. I would have to say it sounds like us, The Sea Within. 

“Our tastes are very eclectic – from prog to jazz to classical, to heavy rock, folk, punk, electronica and pop. We all come from a different background – so here everything goes.

“This has been about putting those diverse influences into the music. I feel you'll hear all that's good about pop – with great melodies and hooks – plus the rawness of metal, improvisations, symphonic and movie soundtracks.”

As for the guest musicians, Stolt adds: “We’ve got Jordan Rudess from Dream Theater playing piano on one song. The legendary Jon Anderson sings on another track, while 'wind ace' Rob Townsend, who plays saxophone and flute with Steve Hackett, is also on the record. Each of them brings a different flavour to the music.” 

The Sea Within is available to pre-order below.

The Sea Within - The Sea Within

The Sea Within - The Sea Within
The art-rock collective featuring a diverse selection of musicians from the prog universe gather for this, their debut album. Guests include Jon Anderson, Jordan Rudess and Rob Townsend.

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.