Devin Townsend strips off for 25th anniversary reissue of Infinity

Devin Townsend
(Image credit: InsideOut Music)

Devin Townsend has announced that he will release a 25th anniversary remastered and expanded reissue of Infinity, his third solo album, originally released in 1998, through InsideOut Music on November 24. Townsend has replicated the original cover by appearing naked for the new artwork, which you can see below.

Townsend has remastered the original album, plus seven bonus tracks including the songs from the 1998 Christeen EP (which appear here on vinyl for the first time). The audio has also been specifically mastered for the vinyl edition.

“As I move into a new phase of my work, (one that requires the next two years to be spent writing and recording), I reflect on the Infinity album and the period it all happened in many ways," says Townsend. "This was my first attempt at engineering and mixing an album, and without it, I wouldn’t have gotten where I am now on a technical level. It was like going to college at the time, and although it is primitive in many ways, it also reminded me of the amount of passion it takes to reach a new level. The whole process during the making of this album was fraught with learning, turmoil, growth, and psychological development. In fact: I didn’t think at the time that I would even get through it, (let alone be here 25 years later writing and working with the hard-won experience that came as a direct result of making Infinity).

"I realise now how pivotal this period of expression was for me, and how it was a testament to tenacity in the long run. As such, I’m proud that we’ve decided to re-release the record with all the bonus tracks and personal artwork from that period in one place. I was even asked to do an updated version of the naked cover album cover (!!!) so in the name of authenticity… I did that too. I believe this to be the quintessential version of the record. It was a statement then as it is now. And for those who were there during that period as well as those who are perhaps interested in how it all began, I present to you ‘Infinity’ in an updated fashion. I’m grateful for the opportunity to release it in this light and thank you all for the support all these years. Please wish me luck as I delve into this next phase, and being able to reflect on Infinity during the start of this process has proven to be very useful."

This newly remastered version of the album comes as a Limited 2CD digipak, gatefold 180g 2LP and LP-booklet and as Digital album, and includes all the bonus tracks from this era, as well as newly shot artwork and liner notes from Townsend. You can see the new artwork and complete tracklisting below.

Pre-order Infinity (Remastered 2023).

Devin Townsend

(Image credit: InsideOut Music)

Devin Townsend: Infinity

1. Truth
2. Christeen
3. Bad Devil
4. War
5. Soul Driven Cadillac
6. Ants
7. Wild Colonial Boy
8. Life Is All Dynamics
9. Unity
10 .Noisy Pink Bubbles

1. Om (Demo)
2. Sit In The Mountain (Demo)
3. Processional (Demo)
4. Love-Load (Demo)
5. Sister (Live Acoustic)
6. Hide Nowhere (Live Acoustic)
7. Man (1996 Demo)

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.