Skip to main content

Devildriver ponder country question in new Outlaws ’Til The End video

(Image credit: Ben Hoffman)

Devildriver have released a new 12-minute video interview focusing on the their upcoming album Outlaws ’Til The End: Vol.1.

While it’s been labeled a "country covers" album, the latest clip shows the band along with their collaborators on the record including John Carter Cash, Randy Blythe, Lee Ving, Hank III, Wednesday 13, and Burton C Bell talk what the record is and isn’t, and how they feel country and metal fans will receive the album.

Guitarist Neal Tiemann says: “It’s not a country record – it’s pure Devildriver metal. It’s got some light moments in it, but it’s also got some of the heaviest points of Devildriver’s career.”

Fellow guitarist Mike Spreitzer adds: “We did add some country elements like slide guitar and lap steel, but distorted in more of a metal way. 

“Neal and I enjoyed doing that so much that I think on the next Devildriver record we’re going to implement some of that stuff because we had so much fun.”

Devildriver previously introduced the album (opens in new tab) and released a lyric video for the single Country Heroes (opens in new tab) featuring Hank III.

Outlaws 'Til The End is now available for pre-order, while Devildriver will also play a set at this year's Bloodstock festival in the UK.

Devildriver Outlaws ‘Til The End tracklist

1. Country Heroes - Written by Hank III (Performed by Hank III & Dez Fafara)
2. Whiskey River - Written by Willie Nelson (Performed by Randy Blythe, Mark Morton of Lamb of God & Dez Fafara)
3. Outlaw Man - Written by The Eagles (Performed by Dez Fafara & Neal Tiemann of Devildriver)
4. Ghost Riders in the Sky - Written by Stan Jones (Performed by John Carter Cash, Ana Cristina Cash, Randy Blythe & Dez Fafara)
5. I’m the Only Hell Mama Ever Raised - Written by Johnny Paycheck (Performed by Dez Fafara & Devildriver)
6. If Drinking Don’t Kill Me - Written by George Jones (Performed by Wednesday 13 & Dez Fafara)
7. The Man Comes Around - Written by Johnny Cash (Performed by Lee Ving of FEAR & Dez Fafara)
8. A Thousand Miles from Nowhere - Written by Dwight Yoakam (Performed by Dez Fafara & Neal Tiemann of Devildriver)
9. Copperhead Road - Written by Steve Earle (Performed by Brock Lindow of 36 Crazyfists & Dez Fafara)
10. Dads Gonna Kill Me - Written by Richard Thompson (Performed by Burton C. Bell of Fear Factory & Dez Fafara)
11. A Country Boy Can Survive - Written by Hank Jr. (Performed by Dez Fafara & Devildriver)
12. The Ride - Written by David Allan Coe (Performed by Lee Ving of FEAR & Dez Fafara)

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.