Dead Cross release grisly Obedience School video

Dead Cross
Dead Cross

Dead Cross have released a video for their new track Obedience School.

The song features on their self-titled debut album which will arrive on August 4 via Ipecac, and sees former Slayer drummer Dave Lombardo joined by Faith No More vocalist Mike Patton, bassist Justin Pearson and guitarist Mike Crain.

The new video was directed by Dennis Bersales and is a brutal look at cockfighting in the Philippines. View it below.

Asked in a new interview how it feels to form a punk band in his 50s, Lombardo tells Bandcamp: “Absolutely amazing. I have the same anger and aggression as when I was younger. I still get angry at current affairs. That doesn’t change – and I don’t think my music, or the way I express myself, should change.

“I’m sure there’ll be one day when I’ll express myself in a very happy, mellow, everything’s beautiful, sunshine-and-Care-Bears style. Right now, I’m still pissed.”

Lombardo adds: “If my body and mind want to continue on this hardcore path and I’m physically able, I will. There’s no need to say I’m going to retire when I still have so much energy to contribute. No slowing down, my friend.”

The band previously released a stream of Grave Slave from Dead Cross, which is now available for pre-order. Find the artwork and tracklist below.

Dead Cross tracklist

  1. Seizure And Desist
  2. Idiopathic
  3. Obedience School
  4. Shillelagh
  5. Bela Lugosi’s Dead
  6. Divine Faith
  7. Grave Slave
  8. The Future Has Been Cancelled
  9. Gag Reflex
  10. Church Of The Motherfuckers

Dead Cross - Dead Cross album review

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.