Clutch announce new album Sunrise On Slaughter Beach

Clutch 2022
(Image credit: Dan Winters)

Clutch have announced release details for their new album, Sunrise On Slaughter Beach.

Due for release on September 16 via Weathermaker Music, the album features previously released singles Red Alert (Boss Metal Zone) and We Strive For Excellence. 

Clutch's thirteenth studio album comes over 30 years since the band was formed in Maryland in 1991. The line-up of Neil Fallon (vocals), Tim Sult (guitar), Dan Maines (bass), and Jean-Paul Gaster (drums) has remained consistent throughout the band's history, seeing them evolve from their earlier stoner rock and hardcore roots to a more blues and even prog-based sound at the turn of the millennium when their popularity began to soar thanks to tracks like Careful With That Mic, The Mob Goes Wild and Burning Beard

Recorded at The Magpie Cage Recording Studio in the band's home state of Maryland, Sunrise On Slaughter Beach was produced and mixed by Tom Dalgety, the Grammy-nominated producer who has also worked with Ghost, Pixies, Killing Joke and Therapy?

Speaking about the album, Tim Sult admitted that the record was originally envisioned as something upbeat in response to the pandemic, akin to 2013's Earth Rocker. However, the guitarist admits things didn't work out that way.

"The more the songs took shape, the less I saw that kind of an album," Sult explains. "Something different took shape. The record we ended up with is, in some ways, the most different record we’ve made in a long time.”

Clutch are set to embark on extensive tours of the US, Europe and the UK later this year. The full list of dates can be found on the band's website

Fans can also sign up for a newsletter which includes details of how to preorder Sunrise On Slaughter Beach

Sunrise On Slaughter Beach tracklist

Clutch: Sunrise On Slaughter Beach

(Image credit: Weathermaker Music)

  1. Red Alert (Boss Metal Zone)
  2. Slaughter Beach
  3. Mountain Of Bone
  4. Nosferatu Madre
  5. Mercy Brown
  6. We Strive For Excellence
  7. Skeletons On Mars
  8. Three Golden Horns
  9. Jackhammer Our Names
Rich Hobson

Staff writer for Metal Hammer, Rich has never met a feature he didn't fancy, which is just as well when it comes to covering everything rock, punk and metal for both print and online, be it legendary events like Rock In Rio or Clash Of The Titans or seeking out exciting new bands like Nine Treasures, Jinjer and Sleep Token.