Bury Tomorrow return with new album Cannibal and launch title track

Bury Tomorrow
Bury Tomorrow (Image credit: Music For Nations/Sony)

Bury Tomorrow have revealed they’ll release their new studio album in the spring.

The follow-up to 2018’s Black Flame is titled Cannibal and it’ll launch through Music For Nations/Sony on April 3.

And to mark the news, the UK outfit have unleashed a video for the ferocious title track, which can be watched below.

Frontman Dani Winter Bates has long spoken about the importance of discussing mental health, with Cannibal featuring some of his most personal lyrics to date.

He explains: “This album is for me as well as for the fans. It was a cathartic process to address some of the darkest moments I’ve had in my life. 

“For some people it’ll be a hard listen. But I thought, 'I have to do this. If I’m going to go in, I’m going to go in. I’m not doing something half-arsed.' There is nothing lyrically I would change on this entire album.

“I wanted to live by my words. I talk to people about normalising mental health, so how can I write an album where I’m not talking about mental health? 

“The normalisation of mental health is what saves lives. I want people to see the light in the dark. If they delve into that they can find solace in the discussion, the normalisation, the positive action by discussing this.”

As for the album title, Bates says: “The term Cannibal refers to being eaten away by your own thoughts but also eaten away by other humans. We’re not kind to ourselves, let alone kind to each other.”

Earlier this week, it was confirmed that Bury Tomorrow would play at this year’s Bloodstock Open Air, which will take place at Catton Park, Derbyshire, on August 6-9.

Bury Tomorrow: Cannibal

Bury Tomorrow: Cannibal
Bury Tomorrow will release their new studio album Cannibal in April. It features the blistering title track, with the band set to play the UK's Bloodstock Open Air later in the year.

Bury Tomorrow: Cannibal
1. Choke
2. Cannibal
3. The Grey (VIXI)
4. Imposter
5. Better Below
6. The Agonist
7. Quake
8. Gods & Machines
9. Voice & Truth
10. Cold Sleep
11. Dark Infinite

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.