Bryan Ferry's first six solo albums to be reissued on vinyl

Bryan Ferry
(Image credit: Bryan Ferry)

Roxy Music frontman Bryan Ferry will have his first six solo albums reissued on vinyl through UME on July 30.

His first six solo albums, These Foolish Things (1973), Another Time, Another Place (1974), Let’s Stick Together (1976), In Your Mind (1977), The Bride Stripped Bare (1978) and Boys And Girls (1985) have been remastered from original tapes at Abbey Road Studios and cut by Frank Arkwright. All six releases will feature enhanced versions of the original artwork overseen by Bryan Ferry.

Away from Roxy Music, Ferry's solo output traversed a range of musical styles from filmic electronic soundscapes to recreations of New Orleans and Weimar jazz bands to love songs. With the rare distinction of being regarded as both classic and contemporary, he is acknowledged as the writer and singer of some of the most loved modern pop songs, and a driving force in the avant-garde.

Aside from his own compositions, an equally important aspect of Ferry’s work has been his re-styling of numerous songs from different genres. The first of these was the ground-breaking debut album These Foolish Things, featuring his taken on Bob Dylan’s A Hard Rain’s A Gonna Fall

Pre-order here.

Bryan Ferry

(Image credit: UME)
Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.