Ayreon detail sprawling new double album Transitus

Ayreon (opens in new tab) have announced they’ll release their new studio album Transitus on September 25 through Music Theories Recordings.

It’ll see Arjen Lucassen (opens in new tab) joined by a host of guests including former Twisted Sister (opens in new tab) frontman Dee Snider (opens in new tab), guitar virtuoso Joe Satriani (opens in new tab), Epica (opens in new tab)’s Simone Simons, Kamelot (opens in new tab)’s Tommy Karevik, guitarist Marty Friedman (opens in new tab) and more – with former Doctor Who actor Tom Baker (opens in new tab) narrating the sprawling concept album.

The record will focus on a new story that’s not connected to the Ayreon universe, and will fuse a sci-fi theme with a gothic ghost story, partially set in the 19th century starring lead characters Abby and Daniel.

Lucassen says: “I was looking for a real storyteller with a mature, deep, warm voice. As a kid, I was a huge Doctor Who fan and my favourite doctor was Tom Baker. I couldn’t believe my luck when he agreed to do it! We went to the UK to record him, and it was one of those unforgettable experiences.”

As for the wider album, Lucassen adds: “When I started this I just had no idea that it was going to take me this long! It took about three years from start to finish, and it pushed me out of my comfort zone musically and creatively. 

“But I always need that challenge. The harder it is, the more fun for me to work on it! This is without a doubt the most cinematic and outrageous album I’ve ever done."

Transitus will be released on 2CD, 2LP gatefold red transparent vinyl, and a 48-page Earbook which includes 5 discs – the album on 2CD, a CD of instrumental versions, a CD of guide vocal versions, and a DVD with will include a behind the scenes video, a 5.1 audio and hi-def stereo mix of the album. 

The release will be accompanied by a 28-page graphic novel by artist Felix Vega, which will also be included in the 2LP version.

Ayreon: Transitus (opens in new tab)

Ayreon: Transitus (opens in new tab)
Ayreon return with the brand new studio album Transitus. The double album sees Arjen Lucassen joined by a host of guest stars,
including former Doctor Who Tom Baker who narrates the piece. 

Ayreon: Transitus

1. Fatum Horrificum (A] Graveyard, B] 1884, C] Daniel And Abby, D] Fatum, E] Why?!, F] Guilty)
2. Daniel’s Descent Into Transitus
3. Listen To My Story
4. Two Worlds Now One
5. Talk Of The Town
6. Old Friend
7. Dumb Piece Of Rock
8. Get Out! Now!
9. Seven Days, Seven Nights
1. Condemned Without A Trial
2. Daniel’s Funeral
3. Hopelessly Slipping Away
4. This Human Equation.
5. Henry’s Plot
6. Message From Beyond
7. Daniel’s Vision
8. She Is Innocent
9. Lavinia’s Confession
10. Inferno
11. Your Story Is Over!
12. Abby In Transitus
13. The Great Beyond

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.