Unreleased David Bowie album The Gouster appears in box set

David Bowie

An upcoming David Bowie box set will include his unreleased album The Gouster, which he completed before reshaping it into 1975 record Young Americans.

Who Can I Be Now? (1974-1976) follows the award-winning Five Years (1969-1973), which was launched in 2015, before Bowie’s death on January 10.

Producer Tony Visconti has written sleeve notes for the package, in which he says: “‘Gouster’ was a word unfamiliar to me, but David knew it as a type of dress code worn by African American teens in the 60s in Chicago.

“But in the context of the album its meaning was attitude – an attitude of pride and hipness. Of all the songs we cut, we were enamoured of the ones we chose for the album that protrayed this attitude.”

He adds of the seven-track record: “Forty minutes of glorious funk – that’s what it was, and that’s how I thought it would be.”

Full details will be revealed in due course. Bowie’s last album Blackstar was this month revealed as the best-selling vinyl title of the year to date.

Unheard David Bowie track released as tribute

The Gouster tracklist

  1. John, I’m Only Dancing (Again)
  2. Somebody Up There Likes Me
  3. It’s Gonna Be Me
  4. Who Can I Be Now?
  5. Can You Hear Me
  6. Young Americans
  7. Right

The David Bowie Playlist: The Fans' Choice

Freelance Online News Contributor

Not only is one-time online news editor Martin an established rock journalist and drummer, but he’s also penned several books on music history, including SAHB Story: The Tale of the Sensational Alex Harvey Band, a band he once managed, and the best-selling Apollo Memories about the history of the legendary and infamous Glasgow Apollo. Martin has written for Classic Rock and Prog and at one time had written more articles for Louder than anyone else (we think he's second now). He’s appeared on TV and when not delving intro all things music, can be found travelling along the UK’s vast canal network.