Temple Of The Dog release Angel Of Fire demo

Temple Of The Dog
Temple Of The Dog

Temple Of The Dog have issued a stream of their track Angel Of Fire.

The demo didn’t make the cut for the band’s self-titled 1991 album, but will be included on the extended 25th anniversary edition, which also features a remix of Hunger Strike, another demo titled Black Cat. It’s available for pre-order now.

It’ll be released on September 30 via Universal Music after Soundgarden’s Chris Cornell and Matt Cameron along with Pearl Jam’s Stone Gossard, Jeff Ament and Mike McCready won a legal battle to have the master tapes returned.

Temple Of The Dog will head out on the road for a handful of shows in November to celebrate the album’s 25th anniversary, with McCready saying earlier this week that he’d welcome a studio return with the band.

He told Classic Rock: “If anybody wants to start writing for Temple Of The Dog, I will be there to play guitar if they want me. We’re very busy with our band right now and Chris has been on such a long tour, so he’s been very busy.

“So in terms of timing, who knows, But I hope we can do new songs.”

Temple Of The Dog’s debut album was planned as a one-off tribute to their friend and collaborator, Mother Love Bone singer Andrew Wood, who died in 1990.

Eddie Vedder is not part of the reunited lineup, although a guest appearance has not been ruled out.

McCready, Cornell and Vedder are in issue 228 of Classic Rock, which includes a feature on the grunge scene. It’s available now in print and via TeamRock+.

Temple Of The Dog extended edition tracklist

  1. Say Hello 2 Heaven
  2. Reach Down
  3. Hunger Strike
  4. Pushin’ Forward Back
  5. Call Me A Dog
  6. Times Of Trouble
  7. Wooden Jesus
  8. Your Savior
  9. Four Walled World
  10. All Night Thing
  11. Say Hello 2 Heaven (Alternative mix)
  12. Wooden Jesus (Alternative mix)
  13. All Night Thin (Alternative mix)
  14. Say Hello 2 Heaven (Demo)
  15. Reach Down (Demo)
  16. Call Me A Dog (Demo)
  17. Times Of Trouble (Demo)
  18. Angel Of Fire (Demo)
  19. Black Cat (Demo)
  20. Times Of Trouble (Instrumental)
  21. Say Hello 2 Heaven (Outtake)
  22. Reach Down (Outtake)
  23. Pushin; Forward Back (Outtake)
  24. Wooden Jesus (Outtake)
  25. All Night Thing (Outtake)

Temple Of The Dog 2016 tour dates

Nov 04: Philadelphia Tower Theatre, PA
Nov 07: New York Madison Square Garden, NY
Nov 11: San Francisco Bill Graham Civic Center, CA
Nov 14: Los Angeles The Forum, CA
Nov 20: Seattle Paramount Theater, WA

Mike McCready wants new Temple Of The Dog music

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.