Skip to main content

Tarja Turunen details her new album In The Raw

Tarja Turunen (Image credit: earMUSIC)

Earlier this week, Tarja released a lyric video for her new single Dead Promises.

It was the first material taken from the former Nightwish star’s upcoming album In The Raw – and she’s now revealed further details about the record, which is set to arrive on August 31 via earMUSIC.

It’s reported that the intention of the follow-up to 2016’s The Shadow Self “was to bring out the idea of rawness to match the feelings Tarja was having from the very beginning of the process” with the lyrics said to be deeply personal.

The album version of Dead Promises will feature Soilwork’s Björn “Speed” Strid, with Cristina Scabbia and Tommy Karevik also lending their talents to In The Raw.

Speaking about Dead Promises, Tarja said: “I really like how the guitar sounds – in your face. If I’m singing powerfully, I need something powerful behind me so that I don’t feel like I am left alone.”

In The Raw is now available to pre-order. Find further details below.

Tarja: In The Raw
1. Dead Promises (with Björn “Speed” Strid)
2. Goodbye Stranger (with Cristina Scabbia)
3. Tears In Rain
4. Railroads
5. You And I
6. The Golden Chamber
i. Awaken 
ii. Loputon yö
iii. Alchemy
7. Spirits Of The Sea
8. Silent Masquerade (with Tommy Karevik)
9. Serene
10. Shadow Play

Tarja: In The Raw
Tarja Turunen returns with her first studio album since 2016's The Shadow Self. It'll feature the lead single Dead Promises and include guest appearances from artists including Cristina Scabbia.View Deal