Skip to main content

Steven Wilson details new Bass Communion album

Steven Wilson
Steven Wilson (Image credit: Getty)

Details have emerged for Steven Wilson’s Bass Communion project’s new album.

It’s titled Sisters Oregon and will be the first new music by Wilson’s ambient/drone/noise project in six years and will feature 26-minutes of music.

A statement on the album, which will launch on 10-inch vinyl by Drone Records, reads: “The four parts are filled with sonorous drone expanses, tiny microsounds, deep bass eruptions and sudden breaks, ranging from an otherwordly subtleness to a most spacious finale, reaching a transcendental beauty of the highest degree.

“On almost every Bass Communion release the source material chosen is unique within the discography, in this case recordings of a boy’s choir made at Air Studio in late 2014 during the sessions for Wilson’s album Hand. Cannot. Erase.”

Pre-orders for the vinyl are now open, with the sleeve artwork created by Carl Glover. First edition copies are limited to just 500. It’s expected to ship in mid-late October.

Find the cover art and tracklist below.

Bass Communion Sisters Oregon tracklist

Sisters Oregon Parts 1-2 (14.00)
Sisters Oregon Parts 3-4 (12.00)

Steven Wilson's Guide To 10 Amazing Concept Albums You Might Have Missed

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.