Steve Hackett recruits Durga and Lorelei McBroom for new single Underground Railroad

(Image credit: Tina Korhonen)

Steve Hackett has released a stream of his new single titled Underground Railroad.

The song has been lifted from the guitarist’s upcoming studio album At The Edge Of Light and features guests Durga and Lorelei McBroom.

Speaking about the track, Hackett says: “I was inspired to write Underground Railroad in Wilmington, Delaware, discovering about that amazing network that helped slaves escape in pre-Civil War America, spearheaded by brave people like Harriet Tubman.

"Durga and Lorelei McBroom sound amazing, expressing that heartfelt pain. As well as electric guitar, I play Dobro acoustic and also harmonica, transporting us back to those times."

At The Edge Of Light is set to arrive on January 25 on CD, 2LP/CD, on digital platforms and as a Mediabook CD/DVD, which will contain 5.1 surround sound mix and a behind-the-scenes documentary.

Hackett previously said of the follow-up to 2017’s The Night Siren (opens in new tab): “In these dangerous times, deep shadows feel even sharper than usual and we find ourselves standing at the edge of light.

“The contrast between dark and light weaves its way throughout the album in many ways, from the sense of good fighting evil through to the interplay of dark and light opposites magically combining in cultures, including the heartbeat of India and primal tribal rhythms. 

“Ultimately, this album embraces the need for all musical forms and cultures to connect and celebrate the wonder of unity in this divided world."

Hackett is the cover star of the new issue of Prog magazine, which goes on sale from December 28.

Steve Hackett - At The Edge Of Light
1. Fallen Walls And Pedestals
2. Beasts In Our Time
3. Under The Eye Of The Sun
4. Underground Railroad
5. Those Golden Wings
6. Shadow And Flame
7. Hungry Years
8. Descent
9. Conflict
10. Peace

Steve Hackett: At The Edge Of Light (opens in new tab)

Steve Hackett: At The Edge Of Light (opens in new tab)
Steve Hackett will release his new studio album At The Edge Of Light in January. the follow-up to 2017's The Night Siren features the singles Underground Railroad and Under The Eye Of The Sun.

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. After initially joining our news desk in the summer of 2014, he moved to the e-commerce team full-time in 2020. He maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott grew up listening to rock and prog, cutting his teeth on bands such as Marillion and Magnum before his focus shifted to alternative and post-punk in the late 80s. His favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Ned's Atomic Dustbin and Drab Majesty, but he also still has a deep love of Rush.