Sons Of Apollo share Labyrinth live clip

Sons Of Apollo (Image credit: InsideOut Music)

Sons Of Apollo have released a live video for their Psychotic Symphony track Labyrinth.

It’s the latest material taken from their upcoming package Live With The Plovdiv Psychotic Symphony and follows Just Let Me Breathe, which the band shared in July.

Drummer Mike Portnoy says: “When we decided to do an entire second set of cover songs with an orchestra and choir, we knew we had to take advantage of the opportunity to do at least one Sons Of Apollo song with the additional musicians in the set as well. 

Labyrinth was the perfect song to do with this musical embellishment as it’s a pretty epic piece with a little bit of everything that makes Sons Of Apollo who we are.”

Live With The Plovdiv Psychotic Symphony was recorded at the Bulgarian city’s Ancient Roman Theatre in 2018 and will launch on limited deluxe 3CD/DVD/Blu-ray Artbook, Special Edition 3CD/DVD Digipak, as a standalone Blu-ray and on digital and streaming platforms.

Portnoy adds: “I’ve released several dozen live albums through the years with about a dozen different bands, but I have to say that this live release from Sons Of Apollo may indeed be the most special one of them all.

“Everything was aligned that evening: An absolutely beautiful Roman amphitheatre and a perfectly gorgeous summer evening, one set of Sons Of Apollo material and one set of specially chosen cover songs, and to top it all off being joined by a symphony orchestra and choir.

“It was a magical evening for everybody in attendance and now we can share it with the rest of the world immortalised in this incredible live package.”

He continues: “This package will serve as a nice souvenir to capture the band’s first year on tour and should tide over all of our fans while we complete work on our sophomore studio release that will coming in January 2020.”

Live With The Plovdiv Psychotic Symphony will be released through InsideOut Music on August 30.

(Image credit: InsideOut Music)

Sons Of Apollo: Live With The Plovdiv Psychotic Symphony

CD 1
1. God Of The Sun
2. Signs Of The Time
3. Divine Addiction
4. That Metal Show Theme 
5. Just Let Me Breathe
6. Billy Sheehan Bass Solo
7. Lost In Oblivion
8. Jeff Scott Soto Solo Spot (The Prophet’s Song / Save Me)
9. Alive
10. The Pink Panther Theme
11. Opus Maximus

CD 2
1. Kashmir
2. Gates Of Babylon
3. Labyrinth
4. Dream On
5. Diary Of A Madman
6. Comfortably Numb
7. The Show Must Go On
8. Hell’s Kitchen
9. Derek Sherinian Keyboard Solo
10. Lines In The Sand

CD 3
1. Bumblefoot Guitar Spot
2. And The Cradle Will Rock
3. Coming Home

Sons Of Apollo: Live With The Plovdiv Psychotic Symphony

Sons Of Apollo: Live With The Plovdiv Psychotic Symphony
Sons Of Apollo will release this new live package in August. It was recorded at the Bulgarian city’s Ancient Roman Theatre in 2018 and also features a host of covers.

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.