Queen release lyric video for 'fast' version of We Will Rock You

A promotional picture of Queen

Queen have released a lyric video for their 1977 ‘fast’ version of classic hit We Will Rock You.

It was recorded during their 1977 BBC Session with John Peel and features on the upcoming Queen On Air release. The album features Queen’s complete BBC Radio sessions and is out on November 4 via Virgin EMI worldwide and Hollywood Records in North America.

The accelerated version of We Will Rock You from Queen On Air is the only studio recording of the sped-up version of the track.

Playing the song during his radio show, Peel said: “We Will Rock You – profundity or just another teenage anthem?”

Between February 1973 and October 1977, Queen recorded six radio sessions exclusively for the BBC. The 24 tracks recorded include various alternate versions of classic Queen tracks.

Producer Jeff Griffin, who was in the BBC studio for the recording of the fast We Will Rock You, says: “Now that was fun, particularly fun for me and my engineer Mark Robinson, because the band said, ‘Look, we need as many voices on this as possible, so we want you two to come in and sing in the studio.’

“Mike and I were a bit reluctant at first, not that we minded singing – I sing in a choir and Mike sings old Irish songs – but it’s not quite the same as going in a studio with Queen.

“When you consider that this was now the era of punk, into which John Peel had bought quite heavily, I think it caused quite a bit of a stir at the time because people were surprised that it would be going out on the John Peel Show among all the other things.”

The fast version features different chords and a more frenetic pace.

Queen On Air – The Complete BBC Sessions is available for pre-order.

Queen On Air – The Complete BBC Sessions Deluxe Edition

Disc 1

  1. My Fairy King
  2. Keep Yourself Alive
  3. Doing All Right
  4. Liar
  5. See What A Fool I’ve Been
  6. Keep Yourself Alive
  7. Liar
  8. Son and Daughter
  9. Ogre Battle
  10. Modern Times Rock’n’Roll
  11. Great King Rat
  12. Son and Daughter

Disc 2

  1. Modern Times Rock’n’Roll
  2. Nevermore
  3. White Queen (As It Began)
  4. Now I’m Here
  5. Stone Cold Crazy
  6. Flick of the Wrist
  7. Tenement Funster
  8. We Will Rock You
  9. We Will Rock You (Fast)
  10. Spread Your Wings
  11. It’s Late
  12. My Melancholy Blues

Disc 3

Golders Green Hippodrome, London – September 13, 1973

  1. Procession” (Intro Tape)
  2. Father to Son
  3. Son and Daughter
  4. Guitar Solo
  5. Son and Daughter” (Reprise)
  6. Ogre Battle
  7. Liar
  8. Jailhouse Rock

Estádio Do Morumbi, São Paulo, Brazil – March 20, 1981

  1. Intro
  2. We Will Rock You (Fast)
  3. Let Me Entertain You
  4. I’m in Love with My Car
  5. Alright Alright
  6. Dragon Attack
  7. Now I’m Here
  8. Love of My Life

Maimmarktgelände, Mannheim, Germany – June 21, 1986

  1. A Kind Of Magic
  2. Vocal Improvisation
  3. Under Pressure
  4. Is This the World We Created
  5. (You’re So Square) Baby I Don’t Care
  6. Hello Mary Lou (Goodbye Heart)
  7. Crazy Little Thing Called Love
  8. God Save the Queen

Disc 4: Interviews

  1. Freddie Mercury With Kenny Everett (November 1976)
  2. Queen with Tom Browne (Christmas 1977)
  3. Roger Taylor with Richard Skinner (June 1979)
  4. Roger Taylor with Tommy Vance (December 1980)
  5. Roy Thomas Baker The Record Producers

Disc 5: Interviews

  1. John Deacon, South American tour (March 1981)
  2. Brian May Rock On with John Tobler (June 1982)
  3. Brian May Saturday Live with Richard Skinner and Andy Foster (March 1984)
  4. Freddie Mercury Newsbeat (August 1984)
  5. Brian May Newsbeat (September 1984)
  6. Freddie Mercury Saturday Live (September 1984)
  7. Freddie Mercury with Simon Bates (April 1985)
  8. Brian May The Way It Is with David ‘Kid’ Jensen (July 1986)

Disc 6: Interviews

  1. Roger Taylor My Top Ten with Andy Peebles (May 1986)
  2. Queen for an Hour with Mike Read (May 1989)
  3. Brian May Freddie and Too Much Love Will Kill You with Simon Bates (August 1982)
  4. Brian May Freddie Mercury Tribute Concert with Johnnie Walker (October 1992)

Queen Quiz

Stef wrote close to 5,000 stories during his time as assistant online news editor and later as online news editor between 2014-2016. An accomplished reporter and journalist, Stef has written extensively for a number of UK newspapers and also played bass with UK rock favourites Logan. His favourite bands are Pixies and Clap Your Hands Say Yeah. Stef left the world of rock'n'roll news behind when he moved to his beloved Canada in 2016, but he started on his next 5000 stories in 2022.