Prog supergroup Six By Six announce second album

Six By Six
(Image credit: Dave Lepori)

Prog supergroup Six By Six, who feature Saga guitarist Ian Crichton, Saxon drummer Nigel Glockler and vocalist/multi-instrumentalist Robert Berry (3), have announced they will release a second album in April.

Beyond Shadowland is the follow-up to the band's self-titled 2022 debut, and will be released through InsideOutMusic on April 26. you can watch a video for the lead single The Arms Of A Word below.

"On the new record we kept our style but have written stylistically some quite different tunes," says Crichton. "I gave Robert a lot of parts, sections, licks, middle 8's, etc. He added verses, bridges, etc... and vocals!  He's a brilliant arranger. Of course, Nigel is a powerhouse. As always, he played great on this record."

"Playing with Ian and Robert is always terrific," adds Glockler. "Making this album was a productive time. Ultimately, we narrowed things down to eleven tunes. Good ones too!. I left the sessions feeling very pleased. I think everybody’s going to be impressed with the new album."

"I’ve always believed that music has the power to bring people together," concludes Berry. "This record is a testament to that notion. As always, working with Ian and Nigel on an actual second album was a moving experience for me. Truly special.”

Beyond Shadowland will be available as a Limited CD digipak, Gatefold 180g black 2LP (featuring four exclusive bonus tracks) and as a digital album. The artwork was once again created by Rob Fowler, which you can see below.

Pre-order Beyond Shadowland.

Six By Six

(Image credit: InsideOut Music)

Six By Six: Beyond Shadowland
2. The Arms of a Word  
3. Can’t Live Like This  
4. Obiliex
5. Only You Can Decide  
6. Titans 
7. Outside Looking In  
8. Spectre
9. Sympathise  
10. One Step
11. The Mission

Vinyl-only bonus tracks:
1. SiX By SiX Orchestra Medley
2. The Arms of a Word (Instrumental)
3. Honor Bridge
4. The Mission (Instrumental)

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.