Michael Moorcock releases new collaboration with Spirits Burning

Michael Moorcock
(Image credit: Future)

Fantasy writer/art rock visionary Michael Moorcock has teamed up once again with Don Falcone's space rock collective Spirits Burning for upcoming album The Hollow Lands, which has been released through Cleopatra Records.

The Hollow Lands is a beautiful piece of work, building on An Alien Heat with musical subtlety and intelligence," says Moorcock. "I am delighted by the interpretation and can't wait to hear the resolution to this amazing project! They are a wonderful complement to what is one of my own favourite sequences and I could not hope for a better interpretation.”

The Hollow Lands is a continuation of a trilogy of Moorcock’s stories, dubbed The Dancers At The Ends Of Time series, that began with An Alien Heat, released in 2018. For this second instalment, Falcone has assembled a stellar cast of progressive rock luminaries including Blue Öyster Cult members Albert Bouchard, Eric Bloom, Donald “Buck Dharma” Roeser and Joe Bouchard, Hawkwind associates Harvey Bainbridge, Steve Bemand, Bridget Wishart, Adrian Shaw and Dead Fred as well as Nektar’s Ron Howden, Strawbs' Chas Cronk, and many more!

“This album was another opportunity to work closely with Al (Bouchard) on Mike's Dancers series," addds Falcone. "Al started seven of the songs and played on 15. Together, we invited a special group of musicians, and they brought an amazing amount of enthusiasm and passion to this adventure. Plus, it was great to record Mike again. He provided vocals or harmonica to 16 of the 18 songs.”

The Hollow Lands is available now on digital, CD and a very special limited edition coloured vinyl pressing with full colour printed sleeve.

Get The Hollow Lands.

Michael Moorcock

(Image credit: Cleopatra Records)

Spirits Burning & Michael Moorcock: The Hollow Lands
1. To Hollow Lands
2. Isn't It Delicious?
3. Playing At Ships
4. Dance Through Time
5. Warm Snow Peaks
6. On The Hunt
7. A Haze Of Crimson Light
8. Conflict & Illusions
9. Robot Nurse & The Children Of The Pit
10. A Conversation With H.G. Wells
11. Awful Dilemma
12. Mr. Underwood's Soliloquy 
13. Time Machine Cabriolet
14. We May Yet Be Saved
15. Morphail Megaflow
16. Memorable Night At Café Royal
17. To The Time Machine, At Last
18. Make A Fire

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.