Metallica’s Global Citizen set to be streamed live

Metallica's James Hetfield
Metallica's James Hetfield (Image credit: Getty)

Metallica’s set at this weekend’s free Global Citizen festival at New York’s Central Park will be streamed live, it’s been announced.

The festival was set up in 2012, with free tickets allocated to people dedicated to fighting world poverty through their actions, such as signing petitions.

The thrash giants will be joined at the annual event by a wide range of artists, including Rihanna, Kendrick Lamar, Demi Lovato and Major Lazer on September 24 (Saturday).

Organisers say: “While we wish everyone could come to the 2016 Global Citizen Festival, we want everyone to see the incredible impact Global Citizens have made to enact policy change from leaders around the world.

“So this year, we’re bringing you a livestream of the show along with a behind-the-scenes commentary and backstage access with our live blog.”

The stream will be broadcast in the US via MSNBS, the festival’s Facebook page and on YouTube from 3pm EST.

Metallica are gearing up to launch their 10th album Hardwired… To Self-Destruct on November 18. They previously released the track Hardwired and announced a run of Latin American dates which kick off in Puerto Rico on October 26. A deluxe edition of the album was recently announced featuring bonus tracks including 2014’s Lords Of Summer.

Metallica’s show at US Bank Stadium in Minneapolis last month was broadcast globally.

The Hardwired... To Self-Destruct cover

The Hardwired... To Self-Destruct cover

Metallica: Hardwired… To Self-Destruct deluxe edition tracklist

Disc 1

  1. Hardwired
  2. Atlas, Rise!
  3. Now That We’re Dead
  4. Moth Into Flame
  5. Dream No More
  6. Halo On Fire

Disc 2

  1. Confusion
  2. ManUNkind
  3. Here Comes Revenge
  4. Am I Savage?
  5. Murder One
  6. Spit Out The Bone

Disc 3

  1. Lords Of Summer
  2. Ronnie Rising Medley
  3. When A Blind Man Cries
  4. Remember Tomorrow
  5. Helpless (Live at Rasputin Music)
  6. Hit the Lights (Live at Rasputin Music)
  7. The Four Horsemen (Live at Rasputin Music)
  8. Ride The Lightning (Live at Rasputin Music)
  9. Fade To Black (Live at Rasputin Music)
  10. Jump In The Fire (Live at Rasputin Music)
  11. For Whom The Bell Tolls (Live at Rasputin Music)
  12. Creeping Death (Live at Rasputin Music)
  13. Metal Militia (Live at Rasputin Music)
  14. Hardwired (Live in Minneapolis)

Metallica 2016 Latin American tour dates

Oct 26: San Juan Coliseo De Puerto Rico, Puerto Rico
Oct 29: Quito Parque Bicentenario, Ecuador
Nov 01: Bogota Hipodromo De Los Andes, Columbia
Nov 03: Guatemala City Estadio Cementos Progreso, Guatemala
Nov 05: San Jose Estadio Nacional, Costa Rica

Metallica release Back To The Front teaser video

The 10 least-played Metallica songs

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.