Skip to main content

Keyboard maestro Derek Sherinian details new solo album The Phoenix

Derek Sherinian
Derek Sherinian (Image credit: InsideOut Music)

Derek Sherinian has announced he’ll release a new solo album later this year.

The Sons Of Apollo (opens in new tab) and Black Country Communion (opens in new tab) keyboardist will launch The Phoenix on September 18 through InsideOut Music and it will be the musician’s first solo outing since 2011’s Oceana (opens in new tab).

Sherinian is joined on The Phoenix by drummer Simon Phillips – who also co-wrote and co-produced the record – along with Tony Franklin, Jimmy Johnson, Billy Sheehan (opens in new tab), Joe Bonamassa (opens in new tab), Zakk Wylde (opens in new tab), Steve Vai (opens in new tab), Ron 'Bumblefoot' Thal (opens in new tab) and Megadeth (opens in new tab)’s Kiko Loureiro.

Sherinian says: “I truly feel that this is my best solo record to date. Simon and I put a lot of energy into the writing, and I am grateful to all of the great players that contributed to this recording."

“It is always an amazing experience to be able to work with Simon. He's been a hero of mine for ages, ever since I heard him playing on albums with Jeff Beck (opens in new tab) and Michael Schenker (opens in new tab). And he is such an invaluable part of the way this new record has come out.” 

Sherinian adds: “Steve Vai has always been on my hit list. But it was when I played keyboards on the Generation Axe tour of Asia in 2017 that I asked him to play on my record, which he gladly accepted.

“Kiko and I have known one another for about 20 years, but this is the first time I've had the opportunity to play with him.” 

The Phoenix will feature a total of eight tracks, including a cover of Buddy Miles’ Them Changes. The album will be released as a limited edition Digipak CD, on 180gLP/CD and on digital and streaming platforms.

Derek Sherinian: The Phoenix
1. The Phoenix
2. Empyrean Sky
3. Clouds Of Ganymede
4. Dragonfly
5. Temple of Helios
6. Them Changes
7. Octopus Pedigree
8. Pesadelo

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.