Karmamoi announce new Orwell-inspired album Room 101

(Image credit: Karmamoi)

Italian progressive rock trio Karmamoi have announced they will release their fifth studio album, Room 101, on May 28.

"Room 101, the album is inspired by George Orwell's 1984," say the band. "It revisits some of the novel’s themes and concepts, adapting them to the present day and focusing on the human mind and its weaknesses."

Recorded by the core Karmamoi trio of  Daniele Giovannoni (drums, keyboards), Alex Massari (guitars) and Alessandro Cefalì (bass), the album also features guest appearances from Steven Wilson keyboard player Adam Holzman and United Porgressive Fraternity's Steve Unrruh on violin and flute. Sara Rinaldi has supplied the vocals.

Room 101 has been produced by Giovannoni and co-produced by Mark Tucker and Octavia Brown at Abbey Rocchi Studios in Rome.

Pre-order Room 101.


(Image credit: Karmamoi)

Karmamoi: Room 101
1. Memory Holes
2. Drop By Drop
3. Dark City
4. Zealous Man
5. Newspeak
6. Room 101
7. The New World

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.