Green Day release new single Bang Bang

Green Day
Green Day

Green Day have released a stream of their new single Bang Bang.

It’s the punk trio’s first new music since last year’s Christmas track Xmas Time Of The Year and it’ll appear on their 12th album titled Revolution Radio, which is planned for an October 7 release.

Green Day have opened pre-orders for the follow-up to 2012’s series of albums ¡Uno!, ¡Dos! and ¡Tre! on CD and limited edition red vinyl, and made the full tracklist available. See it below.

Green Day have also made Bang Bang an instant download for those who buy the record ahead of its launch.

Of the writing process behind Revolution Radio, mainman Billie Joe Armstrong said: “It’s going in the right direction – there’s definitely a great spirit going on. We’re honouring music. We want to make a great album.”

They were the subject of 2015 movie Heart Like A Hand Grenade, which focused on the on the making-of the band’s smash hit 2004 album American Idiot. The American Idiot stage show also made its debut in the UK this year.

Green Day were inducted into the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame last year.

Green Day Radio Revolution tracklist

  1. Somewhere Now
  2. Bang Bang
  3. Revolution Radio
  4. Say Goodbye
  5. Outlaws
  6. Bouncing Off The Wall
  7. Still Breathing
  8. Youngblood
  9. Too Dumb To Die
  10. Troubled Times
  11. Forever Now
  12. Ordinary World

Blog: American Idiots - The Day Green Day Broke My Heart

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.