George Harrison tribute concert from 2002 set for deluxe reissue

George Harrison
George Harrison (Image credit: Getty)

The George Harrison 2002 tribute concert from London’s Royal Albert Hall is to be released on vinyl for the first time later this year to celebrate the late Beatle’s 75th birthday.

It was held at the iconic venue in the city on the one-year anniversary of Harrison’s death on November 29 that year, and saw artists including Eric Clapton, Jeff Lynne, Ringo Starr, Tom Petty, Paul McCartney, Dhani Harrison, Monty Python, Ravi and Anoushka Shankar and more perform in his honour.

Now the historic evening will be reissued on February 23 on various platforms, including a 4LP box set and limited edition deluxe 10-disc box set via Concord Music.

The deluxe box set is limited to 1000 copies and will feature the audio and film recordings from the concert on 4 180g LPs, 2CDs, 2DVDs and 2Blu-rays.

It will also include a 60-page book and a cutting from the original hand-painted onstage tapestry used as the backdrop at the concert.

In addition to the vinyl pressing, Concert For George will also be released on 2CD, 2CD/2DVD, 2CD/2Blu-ray and on digital platforms.

The DVD and Blu-ray sets will include the full concert, the theatrical version featuring highlights from the night, along with interviews, rehearsal footage and behind-the-scenes clips.

Exclusive to the Blu-ray is a segment titled Drummers, featuring interviews with Starr, Jim Keltner and Ray Cooper.

Harrison’s widow Olivia says: “We will always celebrate George’s birthday and this year we are releasing Concert For George in a very special package in memory of a special man.”

Concert For George is now available for pre-order.

Concert For George - complete concert tracklist

  1. Your Eyes - Anoushka Shankar
  2. The Inner Light - Jeff Lynne & Anoushka Shankar
  3. Arpan - Conducted by Anoushka Shankar
  4. Sit On My Face – Monty Python
  5. The Lumberjack Song – Monty Python with Tom Hanks
  6. I Want To Tell You - Jeff Lynne
  7. If I Needed Someone - Eric Clapton
  8. Old Brown Shoe - Gary Brooker
  9. Give Me Love - Jeff Lynne
  10. Beware Of Darkness - Eric Clapton
  11. Here Comes The Sun - Joe Brown
  12. That’s The Way It Goes - Joe Brown
  13. Horse To The Water – Jools Holland & Sam Brown
  14. Taxman - Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers
  15. I Need You - Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers
  16. Handle With Care - Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers with Jeff Lynne & Dhani Harrison
  17. Isn’t It A Pity - Billy Preston
  18. Photograph - Ringo Starr
  19. Honey Don’t - Ringo Starr
  20. For You Blue - Paul McCartney
  21. Something - Paul McCartney & Eric Clapton
  22. All Things Must Pass - Paul McCartney
  23. While My Guitar Gently Weeps - Paul McCartney & Eric Clapton
  24. My Sweet Lord - Billy Preston
  25. Wah Wah - Eric Clapton & Band
  26. I’ll See You In My Dreams - Joe Brown

How George Harrison Made The Greatest Beatles Solo Album Of Them All

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.