Derek Sherinian and Simon Phillips announce new live album

Sherinian Phillips
(Image credit: Press)

Prog powerhouse musicians Derek Sherinian and Simon Phillips will release a new live album, Sherinian/Phillips Live, through InsideOut Music on August 25.

The pair first worked together on Sherinian's 2001 album Inertia and have now collaborated on Sherinian's last three solo releases, Oceana (2011), The Phoenix (2020) and last year's The Vortex.

Sherinian/Phillips Live finally sees the pair find the time to take their work to the live stage at a special concert recorded at The Grape in Ventura, California on August 29 last year. Sherinian and Phillips are joined on the recording by Sherinian's Sons Of Apollo band mate Ron 'Bumblefoot' Thal on guitar and bassist Ric Fierabracci.

You can watch a video for the 11-minute Aurora Australis (the original recording of which featured Bumblefoot), which highlights the band's prog and jazz fusion chops, evident across the whole record.

You can see the new album artwork and tracklisting below.

Pre-order Sherinian/Phillips Live.

Sherinian Phillips

(Image credit: InsideOut Music)

Sherinian Phillips: Live
1. The Vortex
2. Empyrean Sky
3. Temple of Helios
4. Inertia
5. Alpha Burst
6. Barnacus
7. Seven Seas
8. Ascension
9. The Phoenix
10. Introduction
11. Aurora Australis

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.