Deep Purple collection A Fire In The Sky announced

Deep Purple
Deep Purple

A new Deep Purple career-spanning compilation is set for release next month.

Titled Fire In The Sky, it’ll arrive on November 3 on CD, 3CD and 3LP.

Each version features a selection of tracks from the 19 studio albums Deep Purple recorded between 1968 and 2013.

The single CD edition largely focuses on the band’s singles and includes Highway Star and Smoke On The Water, which was recently voted the the Greatest Guitar Riff Ever on World Guitar Day.

The 3CD version delves deeper into Purple’s past and covers 40 songs, including at least one track from every studio album through 2013’s Now What?!, while the triple album boasts 27 tracks from the band’s back catalogue.

A Fire In The Sky is now available for pre-order (opens in new tab).

Deep Purple recently announced that they’d release a limited edition gold version of their latest studio album InFinite on November 3, which includes the previously unreleased live set recorded at this year’s Hellfest.

They’ll hit the road across the UK in November on The Long Goodbye tour.

Deep Purple A Fire In The Sky tracklist

Single CD

  1. Hell To Pay (radio edit)
  2. Rapture Of The Deep
  3. Sun Goes Down
  4. Any Fule Kno That
  5. Sometimes I Feel Like Screaming (Edit)
  6. Bad Attitude (Radio edit)
  7. Knocking At Your Back Door (Single edit)
  8. Perfect Strangers (Single edit)
  9. You Keep On Moving (Single edit)
  10. Soldier Of Fortune
  11. Burn (US single edit)
  12. Woman From Tokyo (Single edit)
  13. Highway Star (US single edit)
  14. Smoke On The Water (US single edit)
  15. Fireball
  16. Strange Kind Of Woman
  17. Child In Time (Part 1)
  18. Speed King (US album edit)
  19. Black Night
  20. Hush

A Fire In The Sky 3CD tracklist


  1. Hell To Pay
  2. Vincent Price
  3. Wrong Man
  4. Rapture Of The Deep
  5. Sun Goes Down
  6. Any Fule Kno That
  7. Sometimes I Feel Like Screaming
  8. Verve: ted The Mechanic
  9. The Battle Rages On
  10. King Of Dreams
  11. Call Of The Wild
  12. Bad Attitude
  13. Knocking At Your Back Door
  14. Perfect Strangers


  1. You Keep On Moving
  2. Dealer (2010 Kevin Shirley Remix)
  3. Stormbringer
  4. Soldier Of Fortune
  5. Mistreated
  6. Might Just Take Your Life
  7. Burn
  8. Rat Bat Blue
  9. Woman From Tokyo
  10. Space Truckin’
  11. Smoke On The Water
  12. When A Blind Man Cries


  1. Highway Star
  2. Demon’s Eye
  3. Fireball
  4. Strange Kind Of Woman
  5. Child In Time
  6. Speed King (US album edit)
  7. Black Night
  8. Hallelujah
  9. Emmaretta (2012 stero mic)
  10. The Bird Has Flown (Early version - 2012 stereo mix)
  11. Wring That Neck
  12. Kentucky Woman
  13. Mandrake Root
  14. Hush

A Fire In The Sky vinyl tracklist

Side 1

  1. Hell To Pay (radio edit)
  2. Vincent Price
  3. Rapture Of The Deep
  4. Sun Goes Down
  5. Any Fule Kno That

Side 2

  1. Sometimes I Feel Like Screaming
  2. The Battle Rages On
  3. Bad Attitude (Radio edit)
  4. Perfect Strangers

Side 3

  1. You Keep On Moving (Single edit)
  2. Soldier Of Fortune
  3. Stormbringer
  4. Burn (US single edit)
  5. Might Just Take Your Life
  6. Woman From Tokyo (Single edit)

Side 4

  1. Highway Star
  2. Smoke On The Water
  3. Demon’s Eye
  4. Fireball

Side 5

  1. Strange Kind Of Woman
  2. Speed King (US album edit)
  3. Child In Time
  4. Black Night

Side 6

  1. Kentucky Woman
  2. Wring That Neck (aka Hard Road)
  3. Mandrake Root
  4. Hush

Deep Purple say 'no' to Ritchie Blackmore return idea

Deep Purple The Long Goodbye UK tour

Nov 17: Birmingham Barclaycard Arena
Nov 18: Manchester Arena
Nov 20: Cardiff Motorpoint Arena
Nov 22: Glasgow SSE Hydro
Nov 23: London O2

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. After initially joining our news desk in the summer of 2014, he moved to the e-commerce team full-time in 2020. He maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott grew up listening to rock and prog, cutting his teeth on bands such as Marillion and Magnum before his focus shifted to alternative and post-punk in the late 80s. His favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Ned's Atomic Dustbin and Drab Majesty, but he also still has a deep love of Rush.