Colorado prog trio Source release video for False Prophet

(Image credit: Source)

US prog rock trio Source have released a visualiser video for their latest single False Prophet, which you can watch below.

False Prophet is taken from the band's upcoming album Ethereal Self which will be released on May 25. It's the third album from the Boulder, Colorado band, who released their debut album Return To Nothing in 2016 and Totality in 2019.

"False Prophet is about rejecting fear-based conditioning which has been forced on all of us since birth," explains vocalist and guitarist Ben Gleason. "Whether it comes from the media, the government, religion or other institutions, fear has been used for over a millennia to keep us at war with ourselves and each other. This song is about choosing to transcend the influence of institutionalised fear.

"This album is about forming unity between our physical and cosmic, or ethereal selves. It is an exploration of mind and matter inviting all who listen to search for a deeper sense of truth in their lives. We recorded, engineered, mixed and produced this album entirely ourselves in our studio on a mountain in Colorado, 8500 feet above sea level. We believe the magic of the surroundings is captured in the recordings and we hope you feel it too."

Gleason is joined in Source by drummer Justin Mirarck and bassist Jake Demarco.

Pre-order Ethereal Self.


(Image credit: Travis Smith)

Source: Ethereal Self
1: Ethereal Self
2: My Encumbrance
3: Nakatapurcinalick
4: The Insipidness
5: False Prophet
6: Movements
7: Origin
8: The Goddess Death
9: Paper Tiger
10: Larva
11: Pupa

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.