Clutch will play at the Metal Hammer Golden Gods 2017

Clutch will play at this year's Metal Hammer Golden Gods
Clutch will play at this year's Metal Hammer Golden Gods

Clutch will play at this year’s Metal Hammer Golden Gods with Orange Amplification.

Neil Fallon, Tim Sult, Dan Maines and Jean-Paul Gaster will join Orange Goblin and Avatar at the 15th annual event at London’s IndigO2 at The O2 on Monday, June 12, which will be hosted by Fozzy frontman and WWE megastar Chris Jericho.

Metal Hammer editor Merlin Alderslade says: “Ladies and gentlemen, please allow us to adjust our pants! To say we’re stoked to have one of the single greatest, most party-est live rock bands on the planet playing our awards for the very first time is the understatement of the century.

“Coupled with the building-shaking riffage of Orange Goblin and the certified freak show that is Avatar, this is already shaping up to be one of the funnest nights in Golden Gods history. And you just wait until you see who else we have playing!”

A limited number of tickets for the 2017 Metal Hammer Golden Gods in association with Orange Amplification will be on sale on Friday, April 28 – when we will also announce the headliner for this year’s show. You don’t want to miss this!

Voting is now underway with fans able to register their favourites by visiting the Metal Hammer Golden Gods website. See the full list of nominations below.

Editorial-chosen awards include Riff Lord presented by Century Media, Defender Of The Faith presented by Orange Amplification, Album Of The Year, Icon, Inspiration, Spirit Of Hammer and The Golden God.

Metal Hammer Golden Gods full list of nominees

Best New Band

Zeal & Ardor
Venom Prison
Ocean Grove

Best Underground Band

Royal Thunder
Anaal Nathrakh

Best UK Band

Bury Tomorrow
While She Sleeps
Orange Goblin

Best International Band presented by Nuclear Blast

Alter Bridge
Avenged Sevenfold


Code Orange

Best Live Band

Steel Panther
Killswitch Engage

Dimebag Darrell ‘Shredder’

Joel O’ Keeffe (Airbourne)
Kiko Loureiro (Megadeth)
Phil Manansala (Of Mice & Men)
Ben Bruce (Asking Alexandria)
Ben Weinman (The Dillinger Escape Plan)

Best Independent Label

Nuclear Blast
Cooking Vinyl
Season Of Mist

Game Of The Year

The Legend Of Zelda: Breath Of The Wild
Mass Effect: Andromeda
Iron Maiden: The Legacy Of The Beast
Resident Evil 7: Biohazard

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.