"We want to take listeners on a journey they won’t forget." Trifecta return with second album

(Image credit: Press)

Trifecta, the prog fusion supergroup formed by Nick Beggs and fellow Steven Wilson band mates Craig Blundell and Adam Holzman, have announced that they will release a second album in April.

The New Normal follows the band's 2021 debut album Fragments and will be released through Kscope on April 12. You can watch a short video trialer featuring brand new music, below.

"I think we all felt it was important to not fit too heavily into one idiom," admits Beggs. "There was a lot we wanted to say and we couldn’t really compact it all into one predetermined sound. I’m especially proud of Dot Are You Wooing and Chinese Fire Drill. We wanted to take listeners on a journey they won’t forget.

"The roots of every song is representative of one person in this band. Adam would come up with something like Wacky Tobaccy, mapping out the sonics, and then we would expand on it together, changing things up wherever it suited the music. Craig came up with the song Ornamental Lettuce and then Adam and I added our parts on top. There’s plenty more to come!"

Joining the core trio on the new 19 track album are Rush guitarist Alex Lifeson and fellow Steven Wilson alumnus Theo Travis. The New Normal was recorded in the in both Leighton Buzzard in Bedford in the UK and New York in the US between 2019 and 2023, engineered by the band and features artwork that was inspired by an original idea from Hajo Muller which you can view below.

The New Normal will be available on limited edition white vinyl double LP, black vinyl double LP, on CD and as a digital album.

Pre-order The New Normal.


(Image credit: Kscope)

Trifecta: The New Normal
1. Beck And Call
2. Dot Are You Wooing?
3. Stroboscopic Fennel
4. Just Feel It Karen
5. Sibling Rivalry
6. Ornamental Lettuce
7. Daddy Long Legs
8. What Are You Doing?
9. Stupid Pop Song
10. Crime Spree
11. Bach Stabber
12. Kleptocrat
13. Once Around The Sun With You
14. Chinese Fire Drill
15. Ouch! My OCD
16. Wake Up Call
17. Wacky Tobaccy
18. Canary In A Five And Dime
19. On The Spectrum

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.