Voivod detail new album The Wake

Voivod have released further details on their upcoming studio album.

They revealed last month that the follow-up to 2013’s Target Earth would be titled The Wake. Now the band have announced that it'll be released on September 21 via Century Media Records.

In addition, Voivod have revealed the cover art – once again created by drummer Michel 'Away' Langevin – and the final tracklist. See both below.

Guitarist Daniel ‘Chewy’ Mongrain says: "It is with great enthusiasm and pride that we will soon share with you the fruit of two years of labour in the form of an intricate, intense and colourful journey with our new album The Wake – expanding the boundaries of Voivod’s multiverse!"

Fans won’t have long to wait to hear the first material from the album, with a new single set to arrive on July 20.

Speaking about the musical direction on The Wake, Langevin previously told Prog. "The music is like a futuristic prog thrash metal trek with many twists and turns. The story involves the usual Voivodian topics: disasters, chaos, conflicts, strange plots and alternate consciousness. 

“We are excited with the result and can't wait to get the material out to you. Also, try to catch us when we tour Europe in September and October. It will be a great opportunity for the band to test some songs from our upcoming album.”

Those live dates will get under way on September 7 in Prague and wrap up on October 20 in Oslo.

Pre-order details for The Wake will be announced in due course.

Voivod - The Wake tracklist

1. Obsolete Beings
2. The End Of Dormancy
3. Orb Confusion
4. Iconspiracy
5. Spherical Perspective
6. Event Horizon
7. Always Moving
8. Sonic Mycelium

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.