Ulver to release Riverhead movie soundtrack

Ulver's Riverhead album sleeve
Ulver's Riverhead album sleeve

Ulver’s soundtrack for the film Riverhead will be released on December 9 via House Of Mythology.

The band’s original score for the film Riverhead is the follow-up to this year’s album ATGCLVLSSCAP, also issued via House Of Mythology.

Riverhead is a crime drama set in the rich historic area of Newfoundland, Canada, and follows family blood feuds between communities. Director Justin Oakey has been a fan of the band for some time and Ulver’s original score for the film was a close collaborative process between the director and the band.

Oakey says: “Late last fall I sent Kristoffer Rygg my latest short film, Flankers, and we began chatting about the soundtrack, eventually going back and forth about a potential collaboration.

“At this point, I went out on a limb and asked if Ulver would be interested in composing the music for my upcoming feature, Riverhead. They kindly accepted and here is the result.

“As a long-time fan, this was an incredible collaboration for me – and further, it allowed us to find aesthetic and cultural similarities between our lands. With this in mind, the soundtrack certainly touches on Nordic and Celtic folk music from within an ambient/atmospheric frame.”

Pre-orders now available via the House Of Mythology store.

Ulver Riverhead Soundtrack tracklist

  1. Riverhead
  2. Alleyways
  3. The Road To Town
  4. In A Wooden Coat
  5. Idle Hands Are The Devil’s Playthings
  6. Father’s Feud
  7. In Memoriam
  8. Stroke The Fire
  9. Bored Of Canada
  10. Hard Standing
  11. Stalking
  12. A Waste Of Your Father’s Life
  13. Spiteful Things
  14. The Hunt
  15. Snake In The Grass


Stef wrote close to 5,000 stories during his time as assistant online news editor and later as online news editor between 2014-2016. An accomplished reporter and journalist, Stef has written extensively for a number of UK newspapers and also played bass with UK rock favourites Logan. His favourite bands are Pixies and Clap Your Hands Say Yeah. Stef left the world of rock'n'roll news behind when he moved to his beloved Canada in 2016, but he started on his next 5000 stories in 2022.