Skip to main content

Tortoise announce The Catastrophist

Tortoise have announced they’ll release their seventh album entitled The Catastrophist on January 22.

It’ll be issued via Thrill Jockey and will be the Chicago post-rock outfit’s first studio record since 2009’s Beacons Of Ancestorship and is said to feature “moody, synth-swept jams” and “hypnotic, bass-and-beat missives.”

They’ve made album track Gesceap available to stream. Hear it below.

Dan Bitney, John Herndon, Doug McCombs, John McEntire and Jeff Parker will tour across Europe to support the release, including an appearance at London’s Village Underground on February 23.

The Catastrophist is available for pre-order in a variety of bundles.

The Catastrophist tracklist

  1. The Catastrophist
  2. Ox Duke
  3. Rock On
  4. Gopher Island
  5. Shake Hands With Danger
  6. The Clearing Fills
  7. Gesceap
  8. Hot Coffee
  9. Yonder Blue
  10. Tesseract
  11. At Odds With Logic

Tortoise tour dates

Feb 07: Copenhagen Vega Jr, Denmark
Feb 08: Hamburg Fabrik, Germany
Feb 09: Berlin Berghain, Germany
Feb 10: Antwerp Trix, Belgium
Feb 11: Utrecht Tivoli, Netherlands
Feb 12: St Gallen Palace, Switzerland
Feb 13: Geneva Antigel Festival, Switzerland
Feb 14: Zurich Stall 6, Switzerland
Feb 15: Reutlingen Franz K, Germany
Feb 16: Wien Arena, Austria
Feb 17: Budapest A38, Hungary
Feb 18: Zagreb Mochvara, Croatia
Feb 19: Bologna Locomotiv, Italy
Feb 20: Rome Monk Club, Itlay
Feb 21: Milan Magnolia Club, Italy
Feb 23: London Village Underground, UK

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.