Skip to main content

The White Buffalo launches fighty, boozed-fuelled Avalon video

The White Buffalo

The White Buffalo, also known as singer-songwriter Jake Smith, has released a video for Avalon. The track is taken from The White Buffalo’s recent Darkest Darks, Lightest Lights album, the follow-up to 2015’s Love & The Death of Damnation.

Avalon is a song about a man down on his luck, on his way to the bottom,” says Jake. “A lonely outsider making some poor life decisions, desperately hoping for a change. In the video we go to an extreme. We loosely based it on the same themes of debauchery, desperation, and redemption but put it all in one booze and violence-filled day.”

Last month The White Buffalo released Madam’s Soft, Madam’s Sweet from the album in the build-up to a UK tour that included a performance of Avalon during a appearance on the BBC’s flagship music show Later… with Jools Holland.

The White Buffalo is currently on tour in the US, but returns to the UK in April to start a European tour that includes a headline show at London’s Forum. Full dates below.

Tour Dates

Friday, December 1, 2017 at 8:00PMCedar Cultural CenterMinneapolis, United States
Saturday, December 2, 2017 at 9:00PMBottom LoungeChicago, United States
Sunday, December 3, 2017 at 8:00PMHigh Noon SaloonMadison, United States
Tuesday, December 5, 2017 at 8:00PMThe Grog ShopCleveland, United States
Wednesday, December 6, 2017 at 7:00PMThe ShelterDetroit, United States
Friday, December 8, 2017 at 7:00PMAuraPortland, United States
Saturday, December 9, 2017 at 8:00PMShowcase LoungeSouth Burlington, United States
Sunday, December 10, 2017 at 8:00PMBrooklyn BowlBrooklyn, United States
Tuesday, December 12, 2017 at 7:00PMThe Foundry at The FillmorePhiladelphia, United States
Wednesday, December 13, 2017 at 7:00PM9:30 ClubWashington, United States
Friday, December 15, 2017 at 7:00PMParadise Rock ClubBoston, United States
Saturday, January 13, 2018 at 9:00PMFonda TheatreLos Angeles, United States
Friday, January 19, 2018 at 7:00PMThe Observatory North ParkSan Diego, United States
Saturday, January 20, 2018 at 7:00PMThe ObservatorySanta Ana, United States
Tuesday, January 23, 2018 at 7:00PMThe CatalystSanta Cruz, United States
Wednesday, January 24, 2018 at 7:00PMThe FillmoreSan Francisco, United States
Friday, January 26, 2018 at 7:00PMHi-Fi Music HallEugene, United States
Saturday, January 27, 2018 at 7:00PMWonder BallroomPortland, United States
Sunday, January 28, 2018 at 8:30PMThe CrocodileSeattle, United States
Friday, February 9, 2018 at 8:30PMThe LoftAtlanta, United States
Saturday, February 10, 2018 at 9:00PMThe Grey EagleAsheville, United States
Sunday, February 11, 2018 at 7:00PMVisulite TheatreCharlotte, United States
Tuesday, February 13, 2018 at 9:00PMZanzabarLouisville, United States
Wednesday, February 14, 2018 at 8:00PMMercy LoungeNashville, United States
Friday, February 16, 2018 at 9:00PMThe Hi Tone CafeMemphis, United States
Saturday, February 17, 2018 at 7:00PMThe Parish Room at House Of BluesNew Orleans, United States
Sunday, February 18, 2018 at 7:00PMHouse of Blues - Bronze PeacockHouston, United States
Tuesday, February 20, 2018 at 7:00PMThe ParishAustin, United States
Wednesday, February 21, 2018 at 7:00PMClub DadaDallas, United States
Friday, February 23, 2018 at 7:00PMClub CongressTucson, United States
Friday, March 2, 2018 at 7:00PMCapital BallroomVictoria, Canada
Saturday, March 3, 2018 at 7:00PMThe ImperialVancouver, Canada
Monday, March 5, 2018 at 7:00PMBo's Bar & GrillRed Deer, United States
Thursday, March 8, 2018 at 7:00PMMarqueeCalgary, Canada
Friday, March 9, 2018 at 7:00PMStarlite RoomEdmonton, Canada
Saturday, March 10, 2018 at 7:00PMCapitol Music ClubSaskatoon, Canada
Monday, March 12, 2018 at 7:00PMThe GarrickWinnipeg, Canada
Thursday, March 15, 2018 at 7:00PMRum RunnersLondon, Canada
Friday, March 16, 2018 at 7:00PMThe PhoenixToronto, Canada
Saturday, March 17, 2018 at 7:00PMPetit CampusMontréal, Canada
Sunday, April 15, 2018 at 7:00PMO2 RITZManchester, United Kingdom
Monday, April 16, 2018 at 7:00PMO2 ABCGlasgow, United Kingdom
Tuesday, April 17, 2018 at 7:00PMO2 InstituteBirmingham, United Kingdom
Thursday, April 19, 2018 at 7:00PMO2 AcademyOxford, United Kingdom
Friday, April 20, 2018 at 7:00PMO2 AcademyBristol, United Kingdom
Saturday, April 21, 2018 at 7:00PMO2 ForumLondon, United Kingdom
Monday, April 23, 2018 at 7:00PMGloriaCologne, Germany
Tuesday, April 24, 2018 at 7:00PMUebel & GefaehrlichHamburg, Germany
Wednesday, April 25, 2018 at 7:00PMHuxleysBerlin, Germany
Friday, April 27, 2018 at 7:00PMKB ClubMalmo, Sweden
Saturday, April 28, 2018 at 7:00PMKagelbananStockholm, Sweden
Sunday, April 29, 2018 at 7:00PMJohn DeeOslo, Norway
Thursday, July 12, 2018 at 7:00PMSala ApoloBarcelona, Spain

The 10 Best Elliott Smith songs, by The White Buffalo

Classic Rock is the online home of the world's best rock'n'roll magazine. We bring you breaking news, exclusive interviews and behind-the-scenes features, as well as unrivalled access to the biggest names in rock music; from Led Zeppelin to Deep Purple, Guns N’ Roses to the Rolling Stones, AC/DC to the Sex Pistols, and everything in between. Our expert writers bring you the very best on established and emerging bands plus everything you need to know about the mightiest new music releases.