The Rolling Stones celebrate Tattoo You with 40th anniversary release

The Rolling Stones: Tattoo You 40th anniversary
(Image credit: Universal Music)

The Rolling Stones have revealed they’ll mark the 40th anniversary of their Tattoo You album with a special deluxe reissue.

The band’s 16th studio album was released in August 1981 and contained classics including Start Me Up, Hang Fire and Waiting On A Friend

The new edition will arrive on October 22 through Universal Music and will include a new remaster of the original 11-track album along with nine previously unreleased tracks which have been newly completed by the band with additional vocals and guitar.

Among the selection is a reggae-themed cut of Start Me Up and Living In The Heart Of Love, which you can listen to below.

Also included in the deluxe edition is a recording of their live 26-song set from Wembley in 1982, plus a 124-page hardback book featuring more than 200 photos from the Tattoo You world tour and studio shots. The book will also have interviews with producer Chris Kimsey and photographer Hubert Kretzschmar.

Tattoo You 40th anniversary will be released on CD, deluxe 2CD, 4CD super deluxe box set, standard vinyl, 2LP deluxe, 2LP deluxe clear vinyl and as a 5LP super deluxe boxset. Pre-orders are now open.

The Rolling Stones: Tattoo You 40th anniversary

(Image credit: Universal Music)

The Rolling Stones: Tattoo You 40th Anniversary
5LP Super Deluxe Boxset

Side A
1. Start Me Up – Remastered 2021
2. Hang Fire – Remastered 2021
3. Slave – Remastered 2021
4. Little T&A – Remastered 2021
5. Black Limousine – Remastered 2021
6. Neighbours – Remastered 2021
Side B
7. Worried About You – Remastered 2021
8. Tops – Remastered 2021
9. Heaven – Remastered 2021
10. No Use In Crying – Remastered 2021
11. Waiting On A Friend – Remastered 2021
Side C
1. Living In The Heart Of Love
2. Fiji Jim
3. Troubles A’ Comin
4. Shame Shame Shame
5. Drift Away
Side D
6. It’s A Lie
7. Come To The Ball
8. Fast Talking Slow Walking
9. Start Me Up (Early Version)
Side E
1. Under My Thumb
2. When The Whip Comes Down
3. Let’s Spend The Night Together
4. Shattered
5. Neighbours
Side F
6. Black Limousine
7. Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me)
8. Twenty Flight Rock
9. Going To A Go Go
Side G
1. Chantilly Lace
2. Let Me Go
3. Time Is On My Side
4. Beast Of Burden
Side H
5. Let It Bleed
6. You Can’t Always Get What You Want
7. Band Introductions
8. Little T&A
Side J
1. Tumbling Dice
2. She’s So Cold
3. Hang Fire
4. Miss You
5. Honky Tonk Women
Side K
6. Brown Sugar
7. Start Me Up
8. Jumpin’ Jack Flash
9. (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.