Tesla return with new album Shock - listen to the title track

Tesla have announced that they’ll release their ninth studio album later this year.

The follow-up to 2014’s Simplicity is called Shock and it’ll arrive on March 8 via UMC on CD, LP, on digital and streaming platforms – and on limited edition translucent blue vinyl.

And to mark the announcement, Tesla have shared a stream of the title track, which can be listened to below.

A statement reads: “That they are still roaring and soaring should be no surprise. That’s just how they are built. Tesla may have been born in the mid 80s eruption of leather, spandex and big hair, but this band has never been about those things. 

“Their bluesy, soulful sound is strongly embedded in the roots of organic, authentic 1970s rock and roll. The same roots that produced bands like The Allman Brothers, Grand Funk Railroad, AC/DC, Lynyrd Skynyrd and Aerosmith.”

Def Leppard’s Phil Collen produced Tesla’s Mechanical Resonance Live album back in 2016, and the guitarist was behind the desk again for Shock.

The friendship between Tesla and Def Leppard is set to continue this summer when they’ll join forces on a Canadian tour, which will kick off on July 12 in Halifax.

Tesla: Shock
1.  You Won’t Take Me Alive
2.  Taste Like
3.  We Can Rule The World
4.  Shock
5.  Love Is A Fire
6.  California Summer Song
7.  Forever Loving You
8.  The Mission
9.  Tied To The Tracks
10. Afterlife
11. I Want Everything
12. Comfort Zone

Tesla: Shock

Tesla: Shock
Tesla are set to release their brand new studio album titled Shock in March. It's the follow-up to their 2014 record Simplicity and is not to be missed by fans of classic rock.

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.