Tarja shares new single edit of Dark Star ahead of What Lies Beneath reissue

Tarja Turunen standing in smoke
(Image credit: Tim Tronckoe)

Finnish soprano Tarja Turunen has shared a new single edit of her 2010 track Dark Star, which you can listen to below.

A remastered version Of Tarja's 2010 album What Lies Beneath will be re-issued for the first time as 2CD special edition and, for the first time, as heavyweight 180g, black double vinyl, through ear Music in April 12. it will be the first time the album has been released on vinyl.

The release will also feature a special bonus CD featuring alternative versions, single edits, and remixes – for the first time all combined on a bonus CD. It also includes Tarja's duet with German metal legends Scorpions, The Good Die Young, which was originally included as bonus track on 2010s Limited Dreamers Boxset, of which very few are now available. It also features a first appearance on physical media of Underneath, Tarja's duet with Jyrki Linnankivi of The 69 Eyes.

Originally released in 2010, What Lies Beneath was Tarja's third album, following on from 2006's Finnish language Cjristmas album Henkäys ikuisuudesta and 2007's My Winter Storm, both of which were released following her 2005 departure from Nightwish. The album feature a guest appearance from guitarist Joe Satriani, who would also appear on her 2023 ambient prog Outlanders project and duet with German a capella metal band Van Canto and All That Remains singer Phil Labonte.

Pre-order What Lies Beneath 2024 Edition.


(Image credit: ear Music)

Tarja: What Lies Beneath

1. Anteroom Of Death feat. Van Canto
2. Until My Last Breath
3. Naiad feat. Marzy Nyman
4. Dark Star feat. Phil Labonte
5. Underneath
6. Little Lies
7. Still of the Night feat. Toni & Timo Turunen
8. Rivers of Lust
9. In for a Kill
10. I Feel Immortal
11. We Are
12. Falling Awake feat. Joe Satriani
13. The Archives of Lost Dreams
14. Crimson Deep

1. Dark Star - Tarja Vocal Version
2. Montañas de Silencio
3. If You Believe
4. The Crying Moon
5. Underneath - Orchestral Version
6. I Feel Immortal - Single Version
7. Falling Awake feat. Jason Hook
8. The Good Die Young (perf. by Scorpions & Tarja)
9. Naiad - Instrumental Extended Version
10. Underneath feat. Jyrki Linnankivi *
11. If You Believe - Piano Version
12. Falling Awake feat. Julian Barret
13. Underneath - Radio Version
14. I Feel Immortal - Radio Remix
15. Until My Last Breath - Single Version

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.