Supertramp guitarist Carl Verheyen to release new album Sundial

Carl Verheyen
(Image credit: Carl Verheyen)

Supertramp guitarist Carl Verheyen has announced that he will release a new solo album, Sundial, on April 1. The new album, recorded during the 2020 lockdown, is described as "an esoteric record comprising of rock, funk, ska, soulful ballads and afro-pop music".

“I joined the British rock band Supertramp back in 1985 following the release of Brother Where You Bound, an album that featured a long David Gilmour guitar solo on the title track," says Verheyen. "My job was to perform something comparable on tour, tall shoes to fill. We first met backstage at the Royal Albert Hall during one of our week-long stints there. Spiral Glide, [on the new album] is my tribute to Gilmour, a true English gentleman and lifelong inspiration.” 

The album features bassist Dave Marotta, drummer John Mader and keyboard player Jim Cox, from Verheyen's touring band, as well as contributions from Big Big Train drummer Nick D'Virgilio and Chad Wackerman.

You can view the new album artwork and tracklisting below.

Pre-order Sundial.

Carl Verheyen

(Image credit: Carl Verheyen)

Carl Verheyen: Sundial
1. Sundial
2. Kaningie
3. Clawhammer Man
4. Never Again
5. Garfunkel (It Was All Too Real)
6. People Got To Be Free
7. Spiral Glide
8. Michelle's Song
9. No Time For A Kiss
10. Sundial Slight Return

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.