Slipknot's Gray Chapter set for October release

Slipknot have confirmed details of their upcoming fifth album, which will pay tribute to late bassist Paul Gray.

Corey Taylor and co will release .5: The Gray Chapter on October 20 via Roadrunner Records.

The album comes with 14 tracks, with an extra two bonus tracks available on the deluxe edition.

Slipknot made the record’s first single The Devil In I available to stream at the weekend.

5: The Gray Chapter is the band’s first album since 2008’s All Hope Is Gone and their first since the death of founding bass player Gray, who died in 2010.

Gray’s widow Brenna Gray gave evidence at the trial of his doctor, who was cleared of causing his death. She also criticised Slipknot during the trial, saying the band didn’t help Gray who was battling with addiction.

Slipknot have also announced the Prepare For Hell Tour – a major North American headline run, with special guests Korn and King 810. It kicks off on October 29 in El Paso, Texas.

Corey Taylor says: “We’ve been waiting a long time for this. Not only do we get to tour with friends who we respect, we’ve also chosen a band that represents the fury of the future. Slipknot is coming to your town. And hell’s coming with us.”

.5: The Gray Chapter tracklist

  1. XIX 2. Sarcastrophe 3. Aov 4. The Devil In I 5. Killpop 6. Skeptic 7. Lech 8. Goodbye 9. Nomadic 10. The One That Kills The Least 11. Custer 12. Be Prepared For Hell 13. The Negative One 14. If Rain Is What You Want 15. Override (bonus track) 16. The Burden (bonus track)

Stef wrote close to 5,000 stories during his time as assistant online news editor and later as online news editor between 2014-2016. An accomplished reporter and journalist, Stef has written extensively for a number of UK newspapers and also played bass with UK rock favourites Logan. His favourite bands are Pixies and Clap Your Hands Say Yeah. Stef left the world of rock'n'roll news behind when he moved to his beloved Canada in 2016, but he started on his next 5000 stories in 2022.