Skip to main content

Russian Circles return with epic new single Arluck

Russian Circles (Image credit: Sargent House)

Russian Circles (opens in new tab) have announced their return by releasing a new single.

It’s titled Arluck and it's the first taste of material from their new studio album Blood Year, which will launch on August 2 through Sargent House.

It’ll be the Chicago trio’s first record since 2016’s Guidance (opens in new tab).

Mike Sullivan, Dave Turncrantz Brian Cook recorded Blood Year with Kurt Ballou and tracked the album at Steve Albini’s Electrical Audio in Chicago.

A statement on Blood Year reads: “Sullivan, Turncrantz, and Cook made a conscious effort to approach the songs on Blood Year with the same organic feel of a live show. 

“In an age where rock records are often built on a computerised grid, Russian Circles chose to track the foundations of the songs together in one room as complete takes without click tracks. 

“The human pulse and unmetered energy is woven throughout Blood Year, a presence that can be felt with each bone-rattling minute.”

Russian Circles will play at Chicago’s Division Fest on May 31 and head out on tour in support of Blood Year across North America throughout September, October and November (opens in new tab).

Russian Circles: Blood Year
1. Hunter Moon
2. Arluck
3. Milano
4. Kohokia
5. Ghost On Hight
6. Sinaia
7. Quartered

(opens in new tab)

Russian Circles: Blood Year (opens in new tab)
Russian Circles will release the follow-up to 2016 Guidance in August. The Chicago trio recorded Blood Year with Kurt Ballou and features the lead single Arluck.

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.