Skip to main content

Northern Oak show their roots

Prog folk metallers Northern Oak have released a lyric video for the track Nerthus.

The band, who hail from South Yorkshire, have dropped the promo to support upcoming album Of Roots And Flesh.

Speaking about the track, guitarist Chris Mole says: “We think Nerthus is one of the strongest songs on the album, both lyrically and musically. The lyrics are really emotive and the song has some really powerful riffs and a solo which I love playing.”

Of Roots And Flesh is set for release on October 4 and is the follow-up to 2010’s Monuments. Its production was made possible thanks to a Kickstarter campaign which exceeded its £3000 target.

Of Roots And Flesh tracklist

  1. The Dark Of Midsummer

  2. Marston Moor

  3. Gaia

  4. Nerthus

  5. Isle Of Mists

  6. Taken

  7. Requiescant In Peace

  8. The Gallows Tree

  9. Bloom

  10. Of Roots And Flesh

  11. Only Our Names Will Remain

  12. Outro

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.