Motorpsycho announce surprise new album Yay!

(Image credit: Terje Visnes_Espen Haslene)

Norwegian prog rockers Motorpsycho have announced a surprise new album, Yay!, which the band will release through Stickman Records on June 16, less than a year after their previous album Ancient Astronauts.

Unlike the epic nature of Ancient Astronauts, 2021's Kingdom Of Oblivion and the Gullvåg Trilogy of The Tower, The Crucible and The All Is One albums, Yay! will concentrate on "short, reasonably pop-formatted and intimate album of mainly acoustically based songs".

"Motorpsycho have always been about the balance between hard and soft, electric and acoustic, big and small, light and shade," the band say, "and now the time was right for a lighter touch to balance the scales. Yang to the Yin of earlier, more epic works (N.O.X., The Crucible, and Chariot Of The Gods), this is also an album that is relatively easy on the ears, and that actually works really well with a cup of tea at noon."

Yay! was produced by Reine Fiske and Lars Fredrik Swahn (Dungen, Melody’s Echo Chamber). You can view the new album art and tracklisting below.

A first single from the album, and pre-orders will launch on May 5.


(Image credit: Det Nordenfjeldske Grammofonselskab)

Motorpsycho: Yay
01. Cold & Bored
02. Sentinels
03. Patterns
04. Dank State
05. W.C.A.
06. Real Again (Norway shrugs and stays at home)
07. Loch Meaninglessness & the Mull of Dull
08. Hotel Daedalus
09. Scaredcrow
10. The Rapture

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.