Members of Yes, Renaissance, Utopia, District 97 and more on Prog Xmas album

Prog Xmas
(Image credit: Glass Onyon)

Members of Yes, Renaissance, Utopia, Hawkwind, Focus, District 97 and more all feature on a new prog Christmas album. A Prog Rock Christmas will be released on Cleopatra Records.

The collection has been masterminded by Yes bassist Billy Sherwood and features a host of prog luminaries covering a host of seasonal favourites. It also features a guest performance from legeendary actor Malcolm McDowell singing You're A Mean One, Mr. Grinch! The full tracklisting is:

1. Run With The Fox – Jon Davison
2. Christmas Lights – Kasim Sulton
3. Carol Of The Bells – Steve Morse
4. The Twelve Days Of Christmas – Annie Haslam
5. Wonderful Christmastime – Billy Sherwood & Patrick Moraz
6. I Believe In Father Christmas – Martin Turner
7. Fairytale Of New York – Leslie Hunt & Robin McAuley
8. O Come All Ye Faithful – Sonja Kristina
9. A Christmas Song – Thijs Van Leer
10.  You’re A Mean One, Mr. Grinch – Malcolm McDowell
11. Linus & Lucy (Charlie Brown Christmas Theme) – Geoff Downes [CD ONLY]
12. Silent Night – Nik Turner & Simon Hous
13. Happy Christmas (War Is Over) – John Wetton

A Prog Rock Christmas is available as CD or a limited edition red or white vinyl.

It can be ordered here.

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.