Skip to main content

Listen to new Melvins track Stop Moving To Florida

Buzz Osborne
Buzz Osborne (Image credit: Getty)

Melvins have released a stream of their new track Stop Moving To Florida.

The song will feature on the band’s upcoming album Pinkus Abortion Technician and is a medley of the James Gang’s Stop and Butthole Surfers Moving To Florida.

The title of the the new record is a play on the Surfers’ 1987 album Locust Abortion Technician and will be released on April 20 via Ipecac Recordings.

Melvins vocalist and guitarist Buzz Osborne says: “I wanted to do the song Stop but I didn’t want to do all of it and I love Moving To Florida so Stop Moving To Florida seemed perfect.”

Pinkus Abortion Technician will feature two bassists, with drummer Dale Crover explaining: “With our upcoming release, we double your bass player with Steven McDonald and Jeff Pinkus holding down the bottom.

“It’s an experiment in the low end of the aural spectrum where we asked ourselves, ‘Would it work? Could it work? And should it work?’ The answers were yes, yes and yes!”

Pinkus Abortion Technician is now available for pre-order. Find the cover art and tracklist below.

Melvins Pinkus Abortion Technician tracklist

  1. Stop Moving To Florida
  2. Embrace The Rub
  3. Don’t Forget To Breathe
  4. Flamboyant Duck
  5. Break Bread
  6. I Want To Hold Your Hand
  7. Prenup Butter
  8. Graveyard

6 things we learned from Melvins' Electric Brixton show

Scott Munro

News editor for Classic Rock, Metal Hammer, Prog and Louder. He’s been at the news desk since 2014 and when not writing, he can be found watching baseball and visiting whisky distilleries.