Skip to main content

King Crimson announce new live album

King Crimson
King Crimson

King Crimson have announced that they’ll release a new live album next month.

It’s titled Live In Vienna 2016 and will arrive on April 6 on 3CD.

It was recorded in the Austrian capital on December 1, 2016, and has been mixed from the original multi-track tapes.

Discs one and two feature the complete first and second sets, while the third disc includes the encores plus the long-awaited live recorded debut of Fracture by the 2016 lineup.

The third disc also features a series of soundscapes which have been edited into newly sequenced pieces. They’ve been taken from the intro music which was improvised each night of the tour

Live In Vienna 2016 will be presented in fold-out package containing a 16-page booked featuring tour photos and liner notes by David Singleton.

Find the cover art and tracklist below.

King Crimson Live In Vienna 2016 tracklist

Disc One - First Set: Vienna, 2016

  1. Walk On: Soundscapes: Monk Morph Music Of The Chamber
  2. Hell Hounds of Krim
  3. Pictures of a City
  4. Dawn Song
  5. Suitable Grounds for The Blues
  7. The Construkction of Light
  8. The Court of the Crimson King
  9. The Letters
  10. Sailors’ Tale
  11. Interlude
  12. Radical Action II
  13. Level Five

Disc Two - Second Set: Vienna, 2016

  1. Fairy Dust Of The Drumsons
  2. Peace: An End
  3. Cirkus
  4. Indiscipline
  5. Epitaph
  6. Easy Money
  7. Devil Dogs of Tessellation Row
  8. Red
  9. Meltdown
  10. Larks’ Tongues in Aspic Part Two
  11. Starless

Disc Three: Encores and Expansions

  1. Heroes
  2. Fracture
  3. 21st Century Schizoid Man
  4. Schoenberg Softened His Hat
  5. Ahriman’s Ceaseless Corruptions
  6. Spenta’s Counter Claim

King Crimson - Live In Chicago, June 28th 2017 album review

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.