Gösta Berlings Saga announce surprise new live album

Gösta Berlings Saga
(Image credit: Mai Nestor)

Swedish instrumental proggers Gösta Berlings Saga have announced a surprise live album, Artefacts - Live, which is released today through InsideOut Music. You can watch a video for Brus Från Stan below.

The album was recorded at a unique concert in their hometown Stockholm. At the grandiose theatre Södra Teatern they performed their latest album ET EX in its entirety, along withda few older tracks, in front of a sitting audience. Sweden’s biggest nespaper Dagens Nyheter gave the concert a remarkable review and a 5/5 rating. Various guests accompanied the band on stage and everything was filmed and recorded, including Pig Eyes guitarist Henrik Palm and Viagra Boys percussionist Tor Sjödén.

Gösta Berlings Saga have also completed work on their sixth studio album, entitled Konkret Musik, which has been recorded, mixed and produced by Daniel Fagerström and will be released on July 24. A first track from the new album will be made available on May 29.

Order Artefacts -Live.

Gösta Berlings Saga

(Image credit: InsideOut Music)

Gösta Berlings Saga: Artefacts - Live
1. Veras tema
2. The Shortcomings of Efficiency
3. Square 5
4. Artefacts
5. Capercaillie Lammergeyer Cassowary & Repeat
6. Brus från stan
7. Fundament
8. Terra Nova
9. Sersophane (8:54)

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.