Gordon Giltrap announces new studio album Woman

Gordon Giltrap
Gordon Giltrap (Image credit: Joby Sessions/Guitarist Magazine - Future)

Gordon Giltrap has revealed that he’ll release a new studio album later this month.

The latest work from the guitarist and composer is titled Woman and it'll arrive on February 28 through Angel Air and is said to feature “a set of melodic yet touching and profound songs that were created by Gordon to celebrate some remarkable individuals.”

Giltrap says: “Throughout history women have played a major part in shaping civilisation as we know it, from Joan of Arc to Boudicca, Florence Nightingale to Emily Pankhurst, and those brave women who gave their lives willingly in both world wars, fighting for peace and democracy. 

“During my life it has been a privilege to have met some extraordinary women who are featured on this compilation. The most significant and important one to me is my wife Hilary, whose image appears on this CD cover.”

Giltrap adds: “Eight of the tunes on this album were commissioned by husbands as tokens of love for their wives. 

Simply Margaret was commissioned by Hilary’s cousin. The remaining five were pieces I felt moved to write for personal reasons. Sadly, two of the woman I wrote melodies for are no longer with us.”

Woman is now available to pre-order. Find details below, along with the tracklist and cover art.

Gordon Giltrap: Woman

Gordon Giltrap: Woman
Gordon Giltrap will release his new studio album Woman at the end of February. The album features 14 tracks, including the single Sadie In May.

Gordon Giltrap: Woman
1. One For Billie
2. The Anna Fantasia
3. Em's Tune
4. Simply Margaret
5. Kaz
6. Sadie In May
7. Fiona's Smile
8. Paula's Passion
9. Prayer For Phillippa
10. Rachel's Reflection
11. Loren
12. The Stars Look Down On Linda
13. Maddie Goes West
14. Ania's Dream

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.