Skip to main content

Big Big Train announce Japan-only compilation

Big Big Train
(Image credit: Sophocles Alexiou)

Big Big Train will release a new career-spanning compilation album for Japan. Summer's Lease features material that traces the story of Big Big Train from some of their earliest tracks through to the music of the contemporary line-up.

As well as brand new artwork from Big Big Train artist Sarah Ewing, Summer's Lease features a brand new track, Wind Distorted Pioneers, an instrumental penned by drummer and singer Nick D'Virgilio (a live version of which appeared on the 2015 Stone And Steel Blu-ray video release), as well as the 30-minute song cycle London Song, which has never appeared on CD before.

It also features the early Big Big Train song Expecting Snow, which has been updated for this album with new keyboards replacing the keyboard parts on the original album sessions.

Summer's Lease will be released by Belle Antique on March 25. Big Big Train plan to make a supply of the album available on import through Burning Shed in September.

Big Big Train will headline the Prog stage at this year's Ramblin' Man Fair in Kent.

Summer's Lease tracklist

Disc One
Expecting Snow
Kingmaker (live at Real World studios)
Wind Distorted Pioneers
Summer’s Lease (live at Real World studios)
Master James of St George (live at Real World studios)
London Song
(i) Turner on the Thames
(ii) London Plane
(iii) Lost Rivers of London
(iv) London Ston
(v) Skylon
(vi) Mudlarks

Disc Two
Victorian Brickwork
Judas Unrepentan
East Coast Racer
Curator of Butterflies
Swan Hunter
The Transit of Venus Across the Sun
Don’t Forget the Telescope
Brave Captain

Big Big Train

(Image credit: Sarah Ewing)