Anna von Hausswolff returns with new single and album

Anna von Hausswolff
Anna von Hausswolff

Anna von Hausswolff has released a new track and given details on her next studio album.

She’s launched the menacing new song The Mysterious Vanishing Of Electra which will feature on her album titled Dead Magic.

The follow-up to 2015’s The Miraculous is now available for pre-order and scheduled to arrive on March 2 via City Slang.

Von Hausswolff says: “Dear listeners. This is the first track from my new album, Dead Magic! Me, my band and Randall Dunn spent nine days in Copenhagen recording this record.

“The great pipe organ you’re hearing is a 20th century instrument located in Marmor Kirken, The Marble Church, Copenhagen.”

The Gothenburg-based artists goes on to quote a poem by Swedish writer Walter Ljungquist.

It reads: “Take the fate of a human being, a thin pathetic line that contours and encircles an infinite and unknown silence.

“It is in this very silence, in an only imagined and unknown centre, that legends are born. Alas! That is why there are no legends in our time.

“Our time is a time deprived of silence and secrets; in their absence no legends can grow.”

Von Hausswolff has also announced three live shows which will take place in Berlin, London and Stockholm in March next year.

Find details below, along with the Dead Magic tracklist.

Anna von Hausswolff Dead Magic tracklist

  1. The Truth, The Glow, The Fall
  2. The Mysterious Vanishing Of Electra
  3. Ugly And Vengeful
  4. The Marble Eye
  5. Källans återuppståndelse

Anna von Hausswolff 2018 tour dates

Mar 04: Berlin Festsaal Kreuzberg, Germany
Mar 12: London The Dome, UK
Mar 18: Stockholm Berns, Sweden

Anna von Hausswolff issues Stranger clip

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.