US prog trio Shumaun release video trailer for new album

(Image credit: Shumaun)

US prog rock trio Shumaun have released a video trailer for their upcoming third album Memories & Intuition, which you can check out below.

The trio, Farhad Hossain (vocals, guitar, keys), Jose Mora (bass), and Tyler Kim (guitar), will release Memories & Intuition on September 10. You can also check out the album artwork and tracklisting below.

“I think this album is even more song-oriented than the previous two," Hossain explains. "It still contains many of the progressive characteristics of our previous songs with regard to odd time signatures and layered instrumentation, however, it's a bit more refined and vocal driven, though there are a couple of instrumentals on it with some crazy progressive moments. I think there’s material on this album that’ll resonate with many prog fans, however, I feel the material won’t get lost on the average music fan who doesn't necessarily listen to progressive music of any kind. It’s certainly my favourite Shumaun album to date.”

Shumaun started as a solo project of Farhad Hossain, who at the time was playing with Iris Divine and needed another creative outlet for music that didn’t fit in the prog rock/metal genre. However, he was unable to stray from his roots of progressive rock and began the writing process for Shumaun’s first album.

Alongside the regular band line-up, Memories & Intuition features the talents of no less than five accomplished drummers including Leo Margarit (Pain Of Salvation), Thomas Lang (Peter Gabriel, Paul Gilbert), Atma Anur (Jason Becker, Tony Macalpine), and Mark Zonder (Fates Warning, Warlord).


(Image credit: Shumaun)

Shumaun: Memories & Intuition
1. A Subtle Invocation
2. Prisoners
3. Memories Of Water
4. Jabriel's Song
5. Invincible
6. Under The Sun
7. The Pursuit Of Happiness
8. Tides
9. Intuition Underground
10. Breathing Light
11. A Planetary Shift
12. The Day We Said Goodbye

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.