Ultravox to release deluxe 6CD/DVD Rage In Eden box set

Ultravox posed promo for Rage In Eden, 1981
(Image credit: Brian Aris)

Ultravox's Rage In Eden gets the deluxe treatment this autumn with the release of a six-CD/DVD box set via Chrysalis on September 23. The collection includes 52 tracks, 34 of which are previously unreleased, and a new stereo mix by Steven Wilson

Rage In Eden was originally released in October 1981 and was the group's second album with vocalist Midge Ure. As with Vienna and Systems Of Romance, it was produced by krautrock supremo Conny Plank and found them moving in a more experimental and complex direction. Ure himself has described it as "a more interesting album" than Vienna and, although it didn't reach the same commercial heights the record did yield two Top 20 singles in the UK: The Thin Wall and The Voice.

The new deluxe box set pulls together rare and exclusive material from the period including rehearsal/work in progress versions of tracks, B-sides and a newly mixed recording of Ultravox's October 1981 concert at Hammersmith Odeon. It also comes with a 20-page booklet containing new notes by Warren Cann, unseen photos and lyrics, as well as a reproduction of their 1981 tour programme. 

An abridged version of the set will also be available on double-vinyl, picture disc, and as a limited edition four-LP on clear vinyl with bonus tracks. Pre-orders are now open.

Buy the latest issue of Prog Magazine

Rage In Eden box set exploded image

(Image credit: Press)

CD One: Rage In Eden [Original 1981 Analogue Master]
01. The Voice
02. We Stand Alone
03. Rage In Eden
04. I Remember (Death In The Afternoon)
05. The Thin Wall
06. Stranger Within
07. Accent On Youth
08. The Ascent
09. Your Name (Has Slipped My Mind Again)

CD Two:  Rage In Eden [Steven Wilson Stereo Mix] – Previously Unreleased
01. We Stand Alone
02. Rage In Eden
03. The Thin Wall
04. Stranger Within (Full Length Version)
05. Accent On Youth
06. The Ascent
07. Your Name (Has Slipped My Mind).
08. I Never Wanted To Begin
09. Paths And Angles
10. I Remember (Death In The Afternoon) [Steven Wilson Work In Progress Mix]
11. Your Name (Has Slipped My Mind) [Steven Wilson Work In Progress Mix]     

CD Three:  Rarities: Singles/B-Sides/Rehearsals
01. The Thin Wall [Single Version]
02. I Never Wanted To Begin [7” Version]
03. I Never Wanted To Begin [Extended Version]
04. The Voice [Single Version]
05. Paths & Angles
06. Private Lives [Live at Crystal Palace 13/6/81]
07. All Stood Still [Live at Crystal Palace 13/6/81]
08. I Remember (Death In The Afternoon) [Instrumental Cassette Rehearsal] – Previously Unreleased
09. Accent On Youth [Instrumental Cassette Rehearsal] – Previously Unreleased
10. Paths & Angles/The Thin Wall [Instrumental Cassette Rehearsal] – Previously Unreleased
11. Untitled I [Cassette Rehearsal] – Previously Unreleased
12. Untitled II [Cassette Rehearsal] – Previously Unreleased
13. The Thin Wall [Work In Progress Mix]
14. Stranger Within [Work In Progress Mix]
15. The Voice [Work In Progress Mix] – Previously Unreleased
16. We Stand Alone [Work In Progress Mix] – Previously Unreleased

 CD Four:  Live at Hammersmith Odeon 16/10/1981 [Part I] – Previously Unreleased
01. The Thin Wall
02. New Europeans
03. Sleepwalk
04. I Remember (Death In The Afternoon)
05. Stranger Within
06. Mr. X
07. Rage In Eden

CD Five:  Live at Hammersmith Odeon 16/10/1981 [Part II] – Previously Unreleased
01. Accent On Youth
02. The Ascent
03. Your Name (Has Slipped My Mind Again)
04. Vienna
05. Passionate Reply
06. Passing Strangers
07. We Stand Alone
08. All Stood Still
09. The Voice

DVD [Audio Only]
‘Rage In Eden’ Album and B-Sides– Steven Wilson Mixes [24/96 5.1 Surround Mix / DTS  – Previously Unreleased

96/24 5.1 Surround Mix / DOLBY AC3 5.1 Surround Mix / 9624 LPCM Stereo Mix] 

‘Rage In Eden’ album and B-Sides - Original 1980 Production Masters: [96/24 LPCM Stereo Mix]

Natasha Scharf
Deputy Editor, Prog

Contributing to Prog since the very first issue, writer and broadcaster Natasha Scharf was the magazine’s News Editor before she took up her current role of Deputy Editor, and has interviewed some of the best-known acts in the progressive music world from ELP, Yes and Marillion to Nightwish, Dream Theater and TesseracT. Starting young, she set up her first music fanzine in the late 80s and became a regular contributor to local newspapers and magazines over the next decade. The 00s would see her running the dark music magazine, Meltdown, as well as contributing to Metal Hammer, Classic Rock, Terrorizer and Artrocker. Author of music subculture books The Art Of Gothic and Worldwide Gothic, she’s since written album sleeve notes for Cherry Red, and also co-wrote Tarja Turunen’s memoirs, Singing In My Blood. Beyond the written word, Natasha has spent several decades as a club DJ, spinning tunes at aftershow parties for Metallica, Motörhead and Nine Inch Nails. She’s currently the only member of the Prog team to have appeared on the magazine’s cover.