The Sword’s Kyle Shutt to release Pink Floyd tribute album

A still from the video
A still from the video

The Sword’s Kyle Shutt has announced that he’ll release a heavy metal tribute to Pink Floyd later this year.

Titled Doom Side Of The Moon, it will arrive on December 8 via Music Theories Recording/Mascot Label Group and features the guitarist along with bassist Bryan Richie, drummer Santiago Vela III, vocalist Alex Marrero, saxophonist Jason Frey and keyboardist Joe Cornetti.

Shutt says: “The idea came to me after getting baked and wanting to hear a heavy version of Time. I thought, ‘Why not just cover the whole album?’

“After sitting down and working out some loose concepts, the arrangement for Money materialised and I realised that I could totally do this if I assembled the right band.

“It felt a little strange messing with someone’s legacy, but I’m treating it as a celebration of one of the greatest bands to ever rock, a party that everyone is invited to.”

To mark the announcement, Shutt has released an animated video for Money. Doom Side Of The Moon is now available for pre-order.

Doom Side Of The Moon tracklist

  1. Speak To Me
  2. Breathe (In The Air)
  3. On The Run
  4. Time
  5. Great Gig In The Sky
  6. Money
  7. Us And Them
  8. Any Color You Like
  9. Brain Damage
  10. Eclipse

The inside story of Pink Floyd’s classic Live At Pompeii

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.